I'll Give You the Sun

I'll Give You the Sun Cover

I'll Give You the Sun

By Jandy Nelson

Dial Books, Hardcover, 9780803734968, 384pp.

Publication Date: September 16, 2014

Description
The New York Times Bestselling story of first love, family, loss, and betrayal for fans of John Green, Jenny Offill, Emma Straub, and Rainbow Rowell

We were all heading for each other on a collision course, no matter what. Maybe some people are just meant to be in the same story.

At first, Jude and her twin brother are NoahandJude; inseparable. Noah draws constantly and is falling in love with the charismatic boy next door, while daredevil Jude wears red-red lipstick, cliff-dives, and does all the talking for both of them.
Years later, they are barely speaking. Something has happened to change the twins in different yet equally devastating ways . . . but then Jude meets an intriguing, irresistible boy and a mysterious new mentor.
The early years are Noah's to tell; the later years are Jude's. But they each have only half the story, and if they can only find their way back to one another, they ll have a chance to remake their world.
This radiant, award-winning novel from the acclaimed author of The Sky Is Everywhere will leave you breathless and teary and laughing often all at once.
Printz Award Winner
Stonewall Honor Book

"A wild, beautiful, and profoundly moving novel. Jandy Nelson's writing is so electric, so alive, her pages practically glow in the dark." Ransom Riggs, New York Times bestselling author of Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children and Hollow City
"Jandy Nelson is a rare, explosive talent, and one of the best writers working today. Her prose is vivid, breathtaking, and drenched in passion, and her stories remind me why words can change the world." Tahereh Mafi, New York Times bestselling author of the Shatter Me series.
"I love this book. Jandy Nelson is my new writing hero. Read this book. She'll be your favorite author as well." Holly Goldberg Sloan, New York Times bestselling author of Counting by 7s
"Jandy Nelson's writing is poetic and mesmerizing. More importantly, Nelson weaves a novel that seeps into your bones like fire on a cold day . . . I ll Give You the Sun is a novel that promises a story like nothing else and then delivers it. Garret Freymann-Weyr, author of Printz Honor book, My Heartbeat
"This is a stunning, artfully woven story. My heart burst open at the blazing, unforgettable end. Magnificent." Nova Ren Suma, author of Imaginary Girls and 17 & Gone
"An extraordinary book I've never read anything like it. Lyrical-unique-passionate-magical-tragic-hopeful Nelson's characters will fly off the page and into your heart." Nancy Garden, author of Annie on my Mind


About the Author
Jandy Nelson, like her characters in I ll Give You the Sun, comes from a superstitious lot. She was tutored from a young age in the art of the four-leaf clover hunt; she knocks wood, throws salt, and carries charms in her pockets. Her debut novel, The Sky Is Everywhere, was on multiple Best Books of the Year lists, was a YALSA Best Fiction for Young Adults pick, earned numerous starred reviews, has been translated widely, and continues to enjoy great international success. Jandy has a BA from Cornell, an MFA in poetry from Brown, and another MFA in writing for children and young adults from Vermont College of Fine Arts. Currently a full-time writer, Jandy lives and writes in San Francisco, California not far from the settings of The Sky Is Everywhere and I ll Give You the Sun."

Join the Conversation

Join the Conversation

Sign up today to hear about books and authors from an independent bookstore near you.