The Second Spy

The Books of Elsewhere: Volume 3

By Jacqueline West
(Dial, Hardcover, 9780803736894, 256pp.)

Publication Date: July 5, 2012

Other Editions of This Title: Paperback

Shop Local
Enter your zip code below to find indies closest to you.

Go


Selected by Indie Booksellers for the Summer 2012 Kids' Next List
“The Books of Elsewhere series continues to delight. In her third outing, Olive faces dread on two fronts: Annabelle McMartin continues to haunt her, and she's starting middle school. When she and her allies begin keeping secrets from one another, it makes it hard to know whom to trust. Olive may have painted herself into a corner in more than one way in this latest art-infused thriller.”
-- Rosemary Pugliese, Quail Ridge Books, Raleigh, NC


Description

In Olive's third adventure in the New York Times bestselling Books of Elsewhere series, what lurks below the house could be as dangerous as what's hidden inside. . .

Some terrifying things have happened to Olive in the old stone house, but none as scary as starting junior high. Or so she thinks. When she plummets through a hole in her backyard, though, Olive realizes two things that may change her mind: First, the wicked Annabelle McMartin is back. Second, there's a secret below-ground that unlocks not one but two of Elsewhere's biggest, most powerful, most dangerous forces yet. But with the house's magical cats acting suspicious, her best friend threatening to move away, and her ally Morton starting to rebel, Olive isn't sure where to turn. Will she figure the mystery out in time? Or will she be lured into Elsewhere . . . and trapped there for good?

A must-read fantasy series for fans of Pseudonymous Bosch, Coraline, and Septimus Heap.




About the Author

Jacqueline West is a New York Times bestselling author and two-time Pushcart nominee for poetry. She lives in Red Wing, Minnesota.




Praise For The Second Spy

"Once again filled with clever talking cats, paintings that come alive, and nefarious goings-on, this light fantasy/mystery will be enjoyed by fans of the Elsewhere series, and...new readers may be lured in as well."
-Booklist Online

Indie Bookstore Finder

Indie Bestsellers

All the Light We Cannot See
Anthony Doerr
Scribner Book Company
Landline
Rainbow Rowell
St. Martin's Press
New and Selected Poems
David Lehman
Scribner
Still Some Cake
James Cummins
Carnegie-Mellon University Press

Make Your Own Wishlist








Update Profile