Sometimes I Forget You're a Robot

Sometimes I Forget You're a Robot Cover

Sometimes I Forget You're a Robot

By Sam Brown

Dial Books for Young Readers, Hardcover, 9780803738256, 32pp.

Publication Date: October 17, 2013

Description
For fans of Todd Parr and Oliver Jeffers comes this debut picture book about a boy and his robot friend from the creator of the popular crowd-sourced comic blog, explodingdog.com
For a little boy who's always dreamed of having his own robot, actually getting one isn t what he expected at all. The robot can t fly, or swim, or even talk. All he does is beep beep beep like a toy. But his robot does have some hidden talents and one of them is being a great friend.
In this unexpectedly poignant story about adjusting expectations, Sam Brown shows that while no one is perfect, a good friend sure comes close.


Praise For Sometimes I Forget You're a Robot

"It's a book I love as an adult and a book I would have loved as a child too." -Dav Pilkey, author/illustrator of The Adventures of Captain Underpants

"A smart take on the strangeness of friendship." - Kirkus Reviews

"The message is a good one: when you value others for who they are, rather than who you want them to be, you'll be pleasantly surprised." - Publishers Weekly

"[My friends] were soon hooked on the interactive, hilarious strangeness of cartoonist Sam Brown...his 'toons are funnier than anything you'll find in the Sunday paper." - Wired.com

"The pictures, which he draws with a stylus on a tablet PC, feature simple colors and sticklike figures in a distinctive style that is widely recognized and admired by online regulars." - The New York Times

"[Sam Brown] flirts along the fine line between sparse and bizarre, giving people what they want but rarely giving them what they anticipate." - The Austin Chronicle