Join the Conversation

Join the Conversation

Sign up today to hear about books and authors from an independent bookstore near you.

Dreamers Often Lie

Dreamers Often Lie Cover

Dreamers Often Lie

By Jacqueline West

Dial Books, Hardcover, 9780803738638, 368pp.

Publication Date: April 5, 2016

Advertisement
Description
"New York Times" bestselling author Jacqueline West makes her YA debut in this Shakespeare-inspired novel for fans of Holly Black and Laini Taylor"
""If you liked the trippy hallucinations of"Black Swan," you'll be mesmerized by Jacqueline West's eerie new YA romance." "Entertainment Weekly"
Who can you trust when you can't trust yourself?
Jaye wakes up from a skiiing accident with a fractured skull, a blinding headache, and her grip on reality sliding into delusion. Determined to get back to her starring role in the school production of "A Midsummer Night's Dream," Jaye lies to her sister, her mom, her doctors. She's fine, she says. She's "fine." If anyone knew the truth that hallucinations of Shakespeare and his characters have followed her from her hospital bed to the high school halls it would all be over. She's almost managing to pull off the act when Romeo shows up in her anatomy class. And it turns out that he's 100 percent real. Suddenly Jaye has to choose between lying to everyone else and lying to herself.
Troubled by this magnetic boy, a long-lost friend turned recent love interest, and the darkest parts of her family's past, Jaye's life tangles with Shakespeare's most famous plays until she can't tell where the truth ends and pretending begins. Soon, secret meetings and dizzying first kisses give way to more dangerous things. How much is real, how much is in Jaye's head, and how much does it matter as she flies toward a fate over which she seems to have no control?


About the Author
A two-time Pushcart nominee for poetry, Jacqueline West is the author of the kid- and critic-beloved middle-grade series, The Books of Elsewhere. Jacqueline lives amid the bluffs of Red Wing, Minnesota, with her husband, son, and their dog, Brom Bones. This is her sixth novel, her first for teens.
Advertisement