How to Cheer Up Dad

By Fred Koehler
(Dial, Hardcover, 9780803739222, 32pp.)

Publication Date: March 20, 2014

Shop Local
Enter your zip code below to find indies closest to you.

Go


Description

A hilarious book about parent and child relationships for fans of Ian Falconer and Jon Agee--a perfect gift idea for Father's Day and beyond!

Little Jumbo just can't understand why his dad is having such a bad day. It couldn't be the raisins Little Jumbo spit out at the ceiling or the bath he refused to take--after all, Little Jumbo's dad knew he hated raisins and had already taken a bath that week! Luckily, Little Jumbo is such a thoughtful elephant that he decides to turn his dad's bad day around with some of his--ahem, his dad's--favorite things.

How to Cheer up Dad is a standout debut featuring a charmingly oblivious little elephant with serious pluck and staying power. It turns the parent-child roles upside down is a great book for dads and the kids who make them laugh.
 




About the Author

Fred Koehler has a background in advertising and is very excited to make his picture book debut. How to Cheer Up Dad was inspired by a coffee-shop standoff with his then two-year-old son. He sat down afterward, drew two elephants with their trunks pointed at each other, and Little Jumbo was born. Fred lives with his two sprited kids in Lakeland, Florida, where he loves boating, camping, and the great outdoors.




Praise For How to Cheer Up Dad

Praise for How to Cheer Up Dad:

* “This debut author-illustrator gets the father-son relationship just right in a story that’s warm and memorable.” --Booklist, starred review

* " Welcome Little Jumbo! We hope we’ll see more of you.” – Kirkus Reviews, starred review
 
* “ With its sparkle that’s accessible to both parents and kids, this is poised to join the ranks of Steptoe’s In Daddy’s Arms I Am Tall (BCCB 2/98), Mayer’s Just Me and My Dad, and Durand’s Mitchell’s License (BCCB 5/11) as a stellar book for father-and-son sharing. “ - BCCB, starred review

“Don’t save this homage to Dads and their little mischief-makers just for Father’s Day—it can be shared any time of year.” –School Library Journal

Indie Bookstore Finder

Indie Bestsellers

All the Light We Cannot See
Anthony Doerr
Scribner Book Company
Landline
Rainbow Rowell
St. Martin's Press
New and Selected Poems
David Lehman
Scribner
Still Some Cake
James Cummins
Carnegie-Mellon University Press

Make Your Own Wishlist








Update Profile