How to Cheer Up Dad

How to Cheer Up Dad Cover

How to Cheer Up Dad

By Fred Koehler

Dial Books, Hardcover, 9780803739222, 32pp.

Publication Date: March 20, 2014

Description

A hilarious book about parent and child relationships for fans of Ian Falconer and Jon Agee--a perfect gift idea for Father's Day and beyond!

Little Jumbo just can't understand why his dad is having such a bad day. It couldn't be the raisins Little Jumbo spit out at the ceiling or the bath he refused to take--after all, Little Jumbo's dad knew he hated raisins and had already taken a bath that week! Luckily, Little Jumbo is such a thoughtful elephant that he decides to turn his dad's bad day around with some of his--ahem, his dad's--favorite things.

How to Cheer up Dad is a standout debut featuring a charmingly oblivious little elephant with serious pluck and staying power. It turns the parent-child roles upside down is a great book for dads and the kids who make them laugh.



Praise For How to Cheer Up Dad

Praise for How to Cheer Up Dad:

* “This debut author-illustrator gets the father-son relationship just right in a story that’s warm and memorable.” --Booklist, starred review

* " Welcome Little Jumbo! We hope we’ll see more of you.” – Kirkus Reviews, starred review
 
* “ With its sparkle that’s accessible to both parents and kids, this is poised to join the ranks of Steptoe’s In Daddy’s Arms I Am Tall (BCCB 2/98), Mayer’s Just Me and My Dad, and Durand’s Mitchell’s License (BCCB 5/11) as a stellar book for father-and-son sharing. “ - BCCB, starred review

“Don’t save this homage to Dads and their little mischief-makers just for Father’s Day—it can be shared any time of year.” –School Library Journal