Flo & Wendell

By William Wegman
(Dial, Hardcover, 9780803739284, 32pp.)

Publication Date: September 26, 2013

Shop Local
Enter your zip code below to find indies closest to you.

Go


Description

Acclaimed artist William Wegman combines his iconic photography with his background in painting to introduce two irresistible new characters based on his real-life puppies.

Meet Flo. She’s a sophisticated big sister who’s part of a very artistic family.  She likes playing with paint and wearing sweaters her mother knits.  Flo also likes teasing her little brother, Wendell.  They play hide-and-seek, but Flo doesn’t look very hard.  They play dress up, too, but Wendell always gets the bad costumes.  Their parents wish they would get along, and they do try…sometimes.

For every child who has experienced sibling rivalry, here’s a humorous look at what it takes to play nice. Perfect for fans of Maira Kalman, Ian Falconer, and dog lovers of all ages.




About the Author

William Wegman, beloved author and visual artist, is known internationally for his photographs, videos, and paintings.  He has written numerous books for children, including the New York Times bestseller Puppies, and his videos appear regularly on Sesame Street.  In this new book, his first in a decade, Wegman combines his background in painting with his photographs to create a fanciful new world, starring the two irresistible characters Flo and Wendell.  Wegman and his family, which includes his four dogs Candy, Bobbin, Flo, and Topper (the real life Flo and Wendell), divide their time between New York and Maine.




Praise For Flo & Wendell

"The contrast between the dogs’ deadpan stares and their lives of suburban industriousness...will raise grins from even the crabbiest readers." - Publishers Weekly, starred review

"The visual impact is playful and whimsical, with the painterly, colorful gouache contrasting comically with the serious, almost formal faces of the photographed dogs...a sure hit for Wegman fans." - Kirkus Reviews
 

Indie Bookstore Finder

Indie Bestsellers

Confessions of a Self-Help Writer
Benjamin Dehaven
Lagniappe Publishing
Annihilation
Jeff VanderMeer
FSG Originals
The Martian
Andy Weir
Crown
Benediction
Kent Haruf
Vintage

Make Your Own Wishlist








More than 150 writers from 40 events will gather in New York City for PEN World Voices Festival of International Literature, April 28 – May 4, 2014.

For its 10th anniversary, the festival celebrates those who have dared to stand β€˜on the edge,’ risking their careers, and sometimes their lives, to speak out for their art and beliefs. Join us for a wide range of events, including debates, one-on-one conversations, participatory workshops and performances in venues throughout the city. Use the code PEN14 (use PEN2014 for events at The Public Theater) and receive a 20 percent discount on most events. www.worldvoicesfestival.org

Update Profile