Under the Egg

Under the Egg

By Laura Marx Fitzgerald

Dial Books, Hardcover, 9780803740013, 247pp.

Publication Date: March 18, 2014

"From the Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler" meets "Chasing Vermeer" in this clever middle grade debut
When Theodora Tenpenny spills a bottle of rubbing alcohol on her late grandfather's painting, she discovers what seems to be an old Renaissance masterpiece underneath. That's great news for Theo, who's struggling to hang onto her family's two-hundred-year-old townhouse and support her unstable mother on her grandfather's legacy of $463. There's just one problem: Theo's grandfather was a security guard at the Metropolitan Museum of Art, and she worries the painting may be stolen.
With the help of some unusual new friends, Theo's search for answers takes her all around Manhattan, and introduces her to a side of the city--and her grandfather--that she never knew. To solve the mystery, she'll have to abandon her hard-won self-reliance and build a community, one serendipitous friendship at a time.

Praise For Under the Egg

Now an Indie Next List Pick!

"Uniquely readable, entirely charming, and a pleasure from start to finish. Debuts this good are meant to be discovered." – SLJ Fuse 8 Blog

"A fast-paced mystery...If Dan Brown of The Da Vinci Code wrote middle-grade novels, this would be the one." - Kirkus Reviews

"Fans of From the Mixed Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler will find this another delightful lesson in art history." - Publishers Weekly

"Fans of Blue Balliett’s Chasing Vermeer and Elise Broach’s Masterpiece will enjoy this art caper." - School Library Journal

"A gripping mystery with high stakes and moving historical context...[Fitzgerald's] focus on restitution and the personal value of art adds considerable depth to the narrative." - The Horn Book