Poem Depot

Poem Depot

Aisles of Smiles

By Douglas Florian

Dial Books, Hardcover, 9780803740426, 154pp.

Publication Date: February 20, 2014

In the vein of Shel Silverstein and Jack Prelutsky, this illustrated book of humorous poems will guarantee giggles
Artist, poet, and award-winning author Douglas Florian successfully captures the comedy of kids everyday lives with this jam-packed volume of 170 nonsense poems. Meander through the different aisles such as Jests & Jives or Tons of Puns to find everything from laugh-out-loud limericks to frenetic free verse. With Florian's eccentric wit and off-the-wall drawings, this one-stop funny poetry shop is perfect for fans of" Where the Sidewalk Ends.

About the Author
DOUGLAS FLORIAN is the creator of many acclaimed poetry picture books, including lizards, frogs, and polliwogs, a Child Magazine Best Book of the Year; mammalabilia, an ABA's Pick of the Lists; and insectlopedia, a New York Times bestseller, ALA Notable Children's Book, and Publishers Weekly Best Book of the Year. He lives with his family in New York City.

Praise For Poem Depot

"Plenty of laughs to be had." - Publishers Weekly

"More than one reviewer has already noted that fans of Silverstein’s Where the Sidewalk Ends or A Light in the Attic might also enjoy Douglas Florian’s Poem Depot: Aisles of Smiles." - Julie Danielson (of Seven Impossible Things Before Breakfast) in Kirkus Reviews

"With a strong thread of wordplay, the poems will amuse children while also challenging them to think, making this an appealing source of short verse to memorize and an enjoyable collection of poetry to read just for fun." - Booklist

"The verse here ranges from screwball nursery rhymes to free verse, limericks and even a Ben Franklin aphorism...it's not Chaucer, but it's diverting." - The Wall Street Journal
"Echoes of Shel Silverstein’s brand of wit and whimsy reverberate in Florian’s 170 poems. The kid-friendly selections creatively capture the quotidian comings and goings of youngsters in humorous, forward-thinking verse." - School Library Journal