Piper Reed, Navy Brat

Piper Reed, Navy Brat Cover

Piper Reed, Navy Brat

By Kimberly Willis Holt; Christine Davenier (Illustrator)

Henry Holt & Company, Hardcover, 9780805081978, 146pp.

Publication Date: August 7, 2007


It's not easy being the middle child, especially when your dad is a Navy Chief. Meet Piper Reed, a spunky nine-year-old who has moved more times than she can count on one hand. From Texas to Guam, wherever Piper goes, adventure follows, inspired by her active imagination, free-wheeling spirit, and a bit of sister magic. Unlike her older sister, Piper loves being part of a Navy family, and unlike her little sister, Piper is no prodigy genius. Piper is Piper fearless and full of life.

Based on her own childhood experience, Kimberly Willis Holt portrays the life of a Navy family with warmth and humor.

About the Author
Kimberly Willis Holt is the author of the Piper Reed series, including "Piper Reed, Navy Brat," "Piper Reed, Clubhouse Queen," and "Piper Reed, Rodeo Star." She has written many award-winning novels, including "The Water Seeker" and "My Louisiana Sky," as well as the picture books "Waiting for Gregory" and "Skinny Brown Dog." A former Navy brat herself, Holt was born in Pensacola, Florida, and lived all over the U.S. and the world from Paris to Norfolk to Guam to New Orleans. Holt long dreamed of being a writer, but first worked as a radio news director, marketed a water park, and was an interior decorator, among other jobs. A few years after she started writing, her third book, "When Zachary Beaver Came to Town," won a National Book Award for Young People's Literature. She resides in West Texas with her family.Christine Davenier has illustrated numerous children's books, and won a "New York Times" Best Illustrated Award for "The First Thing My Mama Told Me." She lives in Paris, France."

Praise For Piper Reed, Navy Brat

“Filled with warm, realistic family situations mixed with humor, this chapter book deserves a special flyover by the Blue Angels.”—The Horn Book Magazine “This entertaining read will appeal to fans of Judy Moody and Ramona Quimby.”—School Library Journal “...award-winning author Holt tells a lively family story that draws on her experiences of growing up a Navy brat.”—Booklist “Crisp writing from a National Book Award winner...”—Publishers Weekly “Piper’s lively imagination, wholesomeness and moments of ‘sister magic’ are likable and believable. This easy chapter book, based on Holt’s own experiences, is spot on with the details of roving family life. Davenier’s fluid black-and-white drawings fit the mood and characters . . . Launching a new series, Piper’s foray sets sail with verve, fun and spunk.”—Kirkus Reviews