The Day of Battle

The War in Sicily and Italy, 1943-1944

By Rick Atkinson
(Henry Holt & Company, Paperback, 9780805088618, 791pp.)

Publication Date: September 16, 2008

List Price: $22.00*
* Individual store prices may vary.
Shop Local
Enter your zip code below to find indies closest to you.

Go


Description

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

"Majestic... Atkinson's achievement is to marry prodigious research with a superbly organized narrative and then to overlay the whole with writing as powerful and elegant as any great narrative of war." --"The Wall Street Journal"
""
""In "An Army at Dawn"--winner of the Pulitzer Prize--Rick Atkinson provided an authoritative history of the Allied triumph in North Africa during World War II. Now, in "The Day of Battle," he follows the strengthening American and British armies as they invade Sicily in July 1943 and then, mile by bloody mile, fight their way north toward Rome.

The decision to invade the so-called soft underbelly of Europe was controversial, but once under way, the commitment to liberate Italy from the Nazis never wavered. The battles at Salerno, Anzio, the Rapido River, and Monte Cassino were particularly lethal, yet as the months passed, the Allied forces continued to drive the Germans up the Italian peninsula. And with the liberation of Rome in June 1944, ultimate victory at last began to seem inevitable.

Drawing on a wide array of primary source material, written with great drama and flair, "The Day of Battle" is a masterly account of one of history's most compelling military campaigns.




About the Author
Rick Atkinson is the bestselling author of "An Army at Dawn" (winner of the Pulitzer Prize for history), "The Day of Battle", "The Long Gray Line", "In the Company of Soldiers", and "Crusade". His many other awards include two Pulitzer Prizes for journalism, the George Polk Award, and the Pritzker Military Library Literature Award. A former staff writer and senior editor at "The Washington Post", he lives in Washington, D.C.


Praise For The Day of Battle

"Majestic... Atkinson’s achievement is to marry prodigious research with a superbly organized narrative and then to overlay the whole with writing as powerful and elegant as any great narrative of war.” —The Wall Street Journal

"A triumph of narrative history, elegantly written, thick with unforgettable description and rooted in the sights and sounds of battle."—The New York Times

"In The Day of Battle, Rick Atkinson picks up where he left off in An Army at Dawn, his history of the North African campaign, which won the Pulitzer Prize in 2003. A planned third volume, on the Normandy invasion and the war in Europe, will complete The Liberation Trilogy, which is shaping up as a triumph of narrative history, elegantly written, thick with unforgettable description and rooted in the sights and sounds of battle . . . He excels at describing the furor of battle, and the Italian campaign provides him with abundant raw material. . . Mr. Atkinson, a longtime correspondent and editor for The Washington Post, conveys all of this with sharp-edged immediacy and a keen eye for the monstrous and the absurd."—William Grimes, The New York Times  

“Monumental … With this book, Rick Atkinson cements his place among America’s great popular historians, in the tradition of Bruce Catton and Stephen Ambrose.”The Washington Post

“A very fine book …. Anyone who devoured An Army at Dawn with relish will be delighted with Atkinson’s account of the Sicilian and Italian campaign.”—The New York Times Book Review

“[A] fascinating account of the war in Sicily and Italy.”—USA Today

“Gripping …. [Atkinson] combines an impressive depth of research with a knack for taut, compelling narrative.”—Star Tribune (Minneapolis-St. Paul)

“Splendid … the infantrymen who did the fighting will grab at readers’ hearts.”—St. Louis Post-Dispatch

“With The Day of Battle, Atkinson again proves himself to stand among the ranks of our most talented popular historians … Required reading for anyone with an interest in the battles of World War II.”—Austin American-Statesman

“A seamless, stunning narrative that is the equal of An Army at Dawn …. Atkinson’s success lies in his ability to render bare war’s wretched realities in astounding prose.”—Contra Costa Times

Indie Bookstore Finder
EBbooks and EReaders
Find great gifts: Signed books
Link to IndieBound






Update Profile