Guardian of the Green Hill

By Laura L. Sullivan
(Henry Holt and Co. (BYR), Hardcover, 9780805089851, 304pp.)

Publication Date: October 25, 2011

Shop Local
Enter your zip code below to find indies closest to you.

Go


Description

Only a few weeks ago, Meg Morgan and her siblings went to England for the holidays—and found themselves in the middle of a fairy war. Now the war is over, but the battle for control of the fairies has just begun. A mysterious painter named Gwidion appears at the Rookery, ready to give the children art lessons. But his real plans are far more sinister: He means to destroy the Guardian of the Green Hill, the woman who keeps the peace between fairies and humans. Meg knows nothing of the evil artist’s plans, but she is beginning to understand that she might be the only one who can become Guardian when her great-great aunt’s time is over. Yet Meg is just a girl—surely she has plenty of time before she must decide whether she wants to take on such an enormous role. Then someone she loves is stolen by fairies, and no one but Meg can get him back. . . .




About the Author

Laura L. Sullivan is a former newspaper editor, biologist, social worker and deputy sheriff who writes because that’s the easiest way to do everything in the world. She lives in the woods of Kentucky with her loved ones. This is her second novel.




Praise For Guardian of the Green Hill

“A good choice for those well-read in fairy stories…” --VOYA “Sullivan’s writing has a timelessness that contrasts nicely with Meg’s distinctly modern ideas and weaves a compelling story that will pull readers along.” --School Library Journal “Richly atmospheric storytelling in the tradition of Narnia and Nesbit.” --Kirkus Reviews

Indie Bookstore Finder

Indie Bestsellers

We Were Liars
E. Lockhart
Delacorte Press
Americanah
Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie
Anchor
The Bees
Laline Paull
Ecco Press
All the Light We Cannot See
Anthony Doerr
Scribner Book Company

Make Your Own Wishlist








Update Profile