Piper Reed, Forever Friend

Piper Reed, Forever Friend Cover

Piper Reed, Forever Friend

By Kimberly Willis Holt; Christine Davenier (Illustrator)

Henry Holt & Company, Hardcover, 9780805090086, 160pp.

Publication Date: August 7, 2012

Description

Piper is excited to move to a new state and catch up with old friends. But the move doesn’t go as smoothly as she expected: Piper has trouble feeling accepted in her new surroundings. But then she meets Arizona Smiley. Arizona is an avid stamp collector and bowls in a league. Piper is intrigued by Arizona’s originality and before long, she wins Arizona’s affections, and the two become great friends. This move turns out to be the best one yet, and Piper is eager to spread her trademark “Get Off the Bus” catchphrase once again.



About the Author
Kimberly Willis Holt is the author of the Piper Reed series, including "Piper Reed, Navy Brat", "Piper Reed, Clubhouse Queen", and "Piper Reed, Rodeo Star". She has written many award-winning novels, including "The Water Seeker" and "My Louisiana Sky", as well as the picture books "Waiting for Gregory" and "Skinny Brown Dog". A former Navy brat herself, Holt was born in Pensacola, Florida, and lived all over the U.S. and the world from Paris to Norfolk to Guam to New Orleans. Holt long dreamed of being a writer, but first worked as a radio news director, marketed a water park, and was an interior decorator, among other jobs. A few years after she started writing, her third book, "When Zachary Beaver Came to Town", won a National Book Award for Young People's Literature. She resides in West Texas with her family.

Christine Davenier lives in Paris. She has also illustrated the Very Fairy Princess books by actress Julie Andrews and her daughter Emma Walton Hamilton.


Praise For Piper Reed, Forever Friend

Praise for Piper Reed, Navy Brat:

A Texas Bluebonnet Book

“Crisp writing from a National Book Award winner . . . Holt relays quotidian events with humor and insight.” —Publishers Weekly

“Launching a new series, Piper’s foray sets sail with verve, fun, and spunk.” —Kirkus Reviews

Praise for Piper Reed, the Great Gypsy:

“This appealing Navy family is loving without being cloying, strong without being perfect, and optimistic without seeming unbelievable. We salute you, Piper! On to the next adventure!” —The Horn Book

Praise for Piper Reed Gets a Job:

“Piper Reed is back and is as charming as ever. . . . A natural for fans of Clementine or Judy Moody, as well as readers ready to step beyond Junie B. Jones.” —School Library Journal

Praise for The Water Seeker:

“Holt infuses the American pioneer landscape with a hint of magical realism in this intimate and epic coming-of-age tale. . . . Drawing on such diverse themes as Manifest Destiny, personal identity and cross-cultural relationships, the author has crafted a satisfying all-ages story that hosts a dazzling array of richly realized secondary characters . . . and flows as effortlessly as the Platte River.” —Kirkus Reviews, starred review