Prisoners in the Palace

How Princess Victoria Became Queen with the Help of Her Maid, a Reporter, and a Scoundrel

By Michaela MacColl
(Chronicle Books (CA), Hardcover, 9780811873000, 367pp.)

Publication Date: October 2010

List Price: $16.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.
Shop Local
Enter your zip code below to find indies closest to you.

Go


Selected by Indie Booksellers for the Autumn 2010 Kids' Next List
“After her parents are killed in a tragic accident, sixteen-year-old Liza must set aside the life she once new. The young girl's devastation is doubled when she discovers that her parents left behind some sizable debts. Liza finds she must leave her pampered existance behind and find some way of supporting herself. As luck would have it, the sheltered Princess Victoria is seeking a new maid. Once accustomed to being served, Liza is thrust into the position of servant. But as she adjusts to life at Kensington Palace, our heroine discovers that her dual knowledge of the hierarchy above and below stairs may serve to her advantage. Slowly, Liza begins to realize that freedom, friendship, and even love can blossom in the most unexpected of places. Michaela MacColl's debut novel is a delightful taste of Victorian life and the contrasting worlds of the privileged and those who serve them. Fans of Libba Bray's A Great and Terrible Beauty and Anna Godbersen's The Luxe will be thrilled by this new historical adventure.”
-- Megan Graves, Hooray for Books!, Alexandria, VA


Description
London, 1838. Sixteen-year-old Liza's dreams of her society debut are dashed when her parents are killed in an accident. Penniless, she accepts the position of lady's maid to young Princess Victoria and steps unwittingly into the gossipy intrigue of the servant's world below-stairs as well as the trickery above. Is it possible that her changing circumstances may offer Liza the chance to determine her own fate, find true love, and secure the throne for her future queen? Meticulously based on newly discovered information, this riveting novel is as rich in historical detail as Catherine, Called Birdy, and as sizzling with intrigue as The Luxe.



About the Author
Michaela MacColl studied multidisciplinary history at Vassar College and Yale University, which turns out to be the perfect degree for writing historical fiction. She lives with her husband and two daughters in Connecticut.
Indie Bookstore Finder
EBbooks and EReaders
Find great gifts: Signed books
Link to IndieBound






Update Profile