Prisoners in the Palace

How Princess Victoria became Queen with the Help of Her Maid, a Reporter, and a Scoundrel

By Michaela MacColl
(Chronicle Books, Hardcover, 9780811873000, 368pp.)

Publication Date: September 2010

Other Editions of This Title: Paperback

Shop Local
Enter your zip code below to find indies closest to you.

Go


Selected by Indie Booksellers for the Autumn 2010 Kids' Next List
“After her parents are killed in a tragic accident, sixteen-year-old Liza must set aside the life she once new. The young girl's devastation is doubled when she discovers that her parents left behind some sizable debts. Liza finds she must leave her pampered existance behind and find some way of supporting herself. As luck would have it, the sheltered Princess Victoria is seeking a new maid. Once accustomed to being served, Liza is thrust into the position of servant. But as she adjusts to life at Kensington Palace, our heroine discovers that her dual knowledge of the hierarchy above and below stairs may serve to her advantage. Slowly, Liza begins to realize that freedom, friendship, and even love can blossom in the most unexpected of places. Michaela MacColl's debut novel is a delightful taste of Victorian life and the contrasting worlds of the privileged and those who serve them. Fans of Libba Bray's A Great and Terrible Beauty and Anna Godbersen's The Luxe will be thrilled by this new historical adventure.”
-- Megan Graves, Hooray for Books!, Alexandria, VA


Description

London, 1838. Sixteen-year-old Liza's dreams of her society debut are dashed when her parents are killed in an accident. Penniless, she accepts the position of lady's maid to young Princess Victoria and steps unwittingly into the gossipy intrigue of the servant's world below-stairs as well as the trickery above. Is it possible that her changing circumstances may offer Liza the chance to determine her own fate, find true love, and secure the throne for her future queen?

Meticulously based on newly discovered information, this riveting novel is as rich in historical detail as Catherine, Called Birdy, and as sizzling with intrigue as The Luxe.




About the Author

Michaela MacColl studied multi-disciplinary history at Vassar College and Yale University, which turns out to be the perfect degree for writing historical fiction. She lives with her husband, two daughters, and three extremely large cats in Connecticut. This is her first book.




Praise For Prisoners in the Palace

"Liza's riches-to-rags-to-almost-riches story and her development into a young woman of high moral purpose, and Victoria's growth from a docile teen into a queen who would define an era, make this a great read."--School Library Journal, Starred Review

"a whip-smart, spunky protagonist and a worthy heroine to root for. delightful"-Publishers Weekly

Indie Bookstore Finder

Indie Bestsellers

Confessions of a Self-Help Writer
Benjamin Dehaven
Lagniappe Publishing
Annihilation
Jeff VanderMeer
FSG Originals
The Martian
Andy Weir
Crown
Benediction
Kent Haruf
Vintage

Make Your Own Wishlist








More than 150 writers from 40 events will gather in New York City for PEN World Voices Festival of International Literature, April 28 – May 4, 2014.

For its 10th anniversary, the festival celebrates those who have dared to stand β€˜on the edge,’ risking their careers, and sometimes their lives, to speak out for their art and beliefs. Join us for a wide range of events, including debates, one-on-one conversations, participatory workshops and performances in venues throughout the city. Use the code PEN14 (use PEN2014 for events at The Public Theater) and receive a 20 percent discount on most events. www.worldvoicesfestival.org

Update Profile