Death and the Maiden

A Max Liebermann Mystery

By Frank Tallis
(Random House Trade, Paperback, 9780812983340, 373pp.)

Publication Date: October 2, 2012

List Price: $15.00*
* Individual store prices may vary.
Shop Local
Enter your zip code below to find indies closest to you.

Go


Description
Frank Tallis, acclaimed author of the Edgar Award-nominated "Vienna Secrets, " returns with a new and masterfully woven tale full of deceit, love, and rich mystery. Set in fin de siEcle Vienna, it's perfect for fans of Boris Akunin, Alan Furst, and David Liss.
Ida Rosenkranz is top diva at the Vienna Opera, but she's gone silent for good after an apparent laudanum overdose. Learning of her professional rivalries and her scandalous affairs with older men, Detective Inspector Oskar Rheinhardt and Dr. Max Liebermann suspect foul play instead. Their investigation leads them into dark and dangerous conflicts with Gustav Mahler, the opera's imperious director, who is himself the target of a poison pen campaign, and Karl Lueger, Vienna's powerful and anti-Semitic mayor. As the peril escalates, Rheinhardt grows further into his role as family man, while Liebermann finds himself at odds with his inamorata, Amelia, who's loosening both her corset and her tongue in the new feminist movement.
PRAISE FOR FRANK TALLIS'S VIENNA THRILLERS
" A] captivating historical series."--"The New York Times Book Review"
" A] riveting read . . . with well researched and wonderfully imagined period detail."--"The Guardian "(U.K.), ""on" Vienna Twilight"
"Chock-full of tantalizing elements."--"The Austin Chronicle, "on" Vienna Secrets"
"Engrossing . . . immensely satisfying."--"The Boston Globe, "on" Fatal Lies.



About the Author
Frank Tallis is a writer and practicing clinical psychologist. He has held lecturing posts in clinical psychology and neuroscience at the Institute of Psychiatry and King s College London and is one of Britain s leading experts on obsessional states. In 1999 he received a Writers Award from the Arts Council of Great Britain, and in 2000 he won the New London Writers Award.
Indie Bookstore Finder
EBbooks and EReaders
Find great gifts: Signed books
Link to IndieBound






Update Profile