Next to Love

By Ellen Feldman
(Spiegel & Grau, Hardcover, 9780812992717, 304pp.)

Publication Date: July 26, 2011

Other Editions of This Title: Paperback, Paperback, Hardcover

Shop Local
Enter your zip code below to find indies closest to you.

Go


Selected by Indie Booksellers for the August 2011 Indie Next List
“The 'Greatest Generation' and the battles to defeat Germany in Europe during WWII have received generous and much-deserved attention. Ellen Feldman turns our attention to the home front in a moving and insightful story of three young women in a small New England town, two of whom lose husbands on the Normandy beaches, and one whose returning husband is haunted by what we now know as PTSD. How they attempt to rebuild their lives is a story beautifully told. Feldman's narrative also encompasses the racism and the anti-Semetism of those years as well as the nascent women's movement without ever seeming didactic. A brilliant book!”
-- Marian Nielsen, Orinda Books, Orinda, CA


Description

For fans of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Society, The Postmistress, and Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet, a story of love, war, loss, and the scars they leave set during the years of World War II and its aftermath.
 
Set in a small town in Massachusetts, Next to Love follows three childhood friends, Babe, Millie, and Grace, whose lives are unmoored when their men are called to duty. And yet the changes that are thrust upon them move them in directions they never dreamed possible—while their husbands and boyfriends are enduring their own transformations. In the decades that follow, the three friends lose their innocence, struggle to raise their children, and find meaning and love in unexpected places. And as they change, so does America—from a country in which people know their place in the social hierarchy to a world in which feminism, the Civil Rights movement, and technological innovations present new possibilities—and uncertainties. And yet Babe, Millie, and Grace remain bonded by their past, even as their children grow up and away and a new society rises from the ashes of the war.
 
Beautifully crafted and unforgettable, Next to Love depicts the enduring power of love and friendship, and illuminates a transformational moment in American history.




About the Author

Ellen Feldman, a 2009 Guggenheim fellow, is the author of Scottsboro, which was shortlisted for the Orange Prize, The Boy Who Loved Anne Frank, and Lucy.  She lives in New York City.




Conversation Starters from ReadingGroupChoices.com

CONVERSATION STARTERS

  1. For nine years, Babe keeps a terrible secret.How much of a toll do you think it takes on her?Does her hardscrabble background make her tougher than Grace and Millie in the face of adversity?




Praise For Next to Love

“Haunting and profoundly moving…At turns brave, frustrating, and fragile, Feldman’s characters live and love with breathtaking intensity, and her deft juggling of several zigzagging plots makes the pages flow past with the force of a slow but mighty river.”—Booklist (starred review)

“A lustrous evocation of a stormy period in our past; highly recommended for lovers of World War II fiction.”—Library Journal (starred review)

“Beautifully rendered.”—Publishers Weekly
 
“Compelling.”—Vogue.com

“A powerful, haunting, deeply ambitious novel about love and war, impeccably executed, impossible to put down.”—Stacy Schiff, author of Cleopatra: A Life
 
Next to Love is a remarkable novel driven by the powerful engine of most great literature: the yearning for a self. These three deeply, compassionately evoked women seek their own individual identities as the world and the people they love undergo profound change. But they have each other and they have their capacity to love, and Ellen Feldman brilliantly shows us how those things prevail.”—Robert Olen Butler, author of the Pulitzer Prize-winning A Good Scent from a Strange Mountain
 
Next to Love is a beautiful, sometimes heartbreaking story about love and war and what comes after. A breakthrough work by a writer who has already established herself as one of our best historical novelists.”—Kevin Baker, author of Dreamland

“An honest American experience of the aftermath of World War II rendered in sharp detail and full of pathos, Next to Love tells us what we hate to acknowledge—that personal battles don't end with the armistice. There is the touch of Everywoman here.”—Susan Vreeland, author of Clara and Mr. Tiffany
 

Indie Bookstore Finder

Indie Bestsellers

All the Light We Cannot See
Anthony Doerr
Scribner Book Company
Landline
Rainbow Rowell
St. Martin's Press
New and Selected Poems
David Lehman
Scribner
Still Some Cake
James Cummins
Carnegie-Mellon University Press

Make Your Own Wishlist








Update Profile