Camino del Sol

Camino del Sol

Fifteen Years on Latina and Latino Writing

By Rigoberto Gonzalez (Editor)

University of Arizona Press, Paperback, 9780816528134, 352pp.

Publication Date: May 2010

Since 1994, the Camino del Sol series has been one of the premier vehicles for Latina/o literary voices. Launched under the auspices of Chicana/o luminary Ray Gonzalez, it quickly established itself in both the Latina/o community and the publishing world as it garnered awards for its outstanding writing.
Featuring both established writers and first-time authors, Camino del Sol has published poetry and prose that convey something about the Latina/o experience works that tap into universal truths through a distinct cultural lens. This volume celebrates fifteen years of books by bringing together some of the series best work, such as poetry from Francisco X. Alarcon, fiction from Christine Granados, and nonfiction from Luis Alberto Urrea. These voices echo the entire spectrum of Latina/o writing, from Chicana/o to Puerto Rican to Brazilian-American, and take in themes ranging from migration to gender.
Awards bestowed upon Camino del Sol titles include the PEN/Beyond Margins Award to Richard Blanco's "Directions to the Beach of the Dead"; Before Columbus Foundation American Book Awards to Diana Garcia's "When Living Was a Labor Camp" and Luis Alberto Urrea's "Nobody's Son"; International Latino Book Awards to Pat Mora's "Adobe Odes" and Kathleen Alcala's "The Desert Remembers My Name"; the Premio Aztlan literary prize to Sergio Troncoso's "The Last Tortilla"; and the PEN Oakland-Josephine Miles National Literary Award to Kathleen de Azevedo's "Samba Dreamers." All of these works are represented in this outstanding collection.
In a short span of time, Camino del Sol has cultivated an admirable and sizeable list of distinguished contemporary authors and even garnered the first National Book Critics Circle Award for a Chicana/o for Juan Felipe Herrera's "Half of the World in Light." "Camino del Sol: Fifteen Years of Latina and Latino Writing" is a benchmark for the series and a wonderful introduction to the world of Latina/o literature.

About the Author
Rigoberto Gonzalez is the author 15 books, including the poetry collections OUR LADY OF THE CROSSWORD (A Midsummer Night's Press, 2015), Unpeopled Eden, which won the Lambda Literary Award and the Lenore Marshall Prize from the Academy of American Poets, and OTHER FUGITIVES AND OTHER STRANGERS (Tupelo Press, 2006). A professor of English at Rutgers-Newark, the State University of New Jersey, he is the recipient of Guggenheim, NEA and USA Rolon fellowships; a NYFA grant in poetry; the Shelley Memorial Award from the Poetry Society of America; The Poetry Center Book Award; the Barnes & Noble Writer for Writers Award; and the 2015 Bill Whitehead Award for Lifetime Achievement from the Publishing Triangle.

Praise For Camino del Sol

"A strong and growing presence in Latino literature." Publishers Weekly "A major vehicle for Latina and Latino literary voices." The Sunday Journal