Blood of the Prodigal

Ohio Amish Mystery

By Paul L. Gaus; P. L. Gaus
(Ohio University Press, Hardcover, 9780821412763, 235pp.)

Publication Date: June 1999

Other Editions of This Title: Paperback, Paperback

Shop Local
Enter your zip code below to find indies closest to you.

Go


“Although Amish country may seem a strange setting for kidnapping and murder, Pastor Troyer and Professor Branden are called in to help find both a murderer and a kidnapped boy. They must prove their investigative skills to both the Amish and the local sheriff. The Amish setting is as strange and intriguing as that of any foreign country, and the strong-willed characters challenge the reader's prejudices and values. This novel, the first in a series, opens the door for further exploration of the nature of these characters and their culture.”
-- Wendy Foster Leigh, The King's English, Salt Lake City, UT
Selected by Indie Booksellers for the Summer '11 Reading Group List


Description
From the choppy waves of Lake Erie's Middle Bass Island to the too-tranquil farmlands of Holmes County's Amish countryside, mystery and foreboding lurk under layers of tradition and repression before boiling up to the surface with tragic consequences.
For Jon Mills, the journey begins with his decision to retrieve his ten-year-old son from the hands of the Bishop who had ten years earlier cast Mills out of the Order, the same Bishop who is Jon Mills's father.
When Mills turns up dead, dressed in Amish garb, and with the boy missing, Professor Michael Branden plunges headlong into the closed culture to unravel the mystery and find the boy. Working in tandem sometimes and at cross purposes at others with his old friend Sheriff Robertson, Professor Branden digs through the past, recent and otherwise, to uncover the truths that many would prefer to leave undisturbed.
In the tradition of Tony Hillerman, P. L. Gaus depicts a culture that stands outside the norm, but one that is every bit as susceptible to the undertow of the human spirit as any we might know.
Indie Bookstore Finder

Indie Bestsellers

All the Light We Cannot See
Anthony Doerr
Scribner Book Company
Landline
Rainbow Rowell
St. Martin's Press
New and Selected Poems
David Lehman
Scribner
Still Some Cake
James Cummins
Carnegie-Mellon University Press

Make Your Own Wishlist








Update Profile