Journey Cover


New and Selected Poems, 1969-1999

By Kathleen Norris

University of Pittsburgh Press, Paperback, 9780822957614, 131pp.

Publication Date: March 2, 2001

Kathleen Norris has touched readers throughout America with her thoughtful and provocative memoirs of faith: "Dakota: A Spiritual Geography, The Cloister Walk," and A"mazing Grace: A Vocabulary of Faith." She is equally admired for her poetry of engagement with the spiritual world and its landscapes. "Journey" includes poems from three previous books spanning thirty years, along with a generous selection of new work that continues her radically individual celebration of the sacredness of life.

About the Author
Kathleen Norris is the author of two books of poetry, Falling Off (1971) and The Middle of the World (1981) and has received awards from the Guggenheim and Bush foundations. She lives in Lemmon, South Dakota, with her husband.

Praise For Journey

“Norris, whose poetry collections include The Middle of the World, reached a wide audience with her prose memoir Dakota: A Spiritual Geography. Readers of that book will recognize here her closely considered relationship with the prairie; her persistent and delighted spiritual questioning; her respectful identification with other women both ordinary and extraordinary; and her joy in stories. . . . Norris’s poems are characterized by generosity and compassion, as plain and spacious as the prairie life that has engendered many of them.”
--Publishers Weekly

“She has inherited [Emily] Dickinson’s view that the thing that inspires is the thing to be celebrated. The reader can often sense Ms. Norris’s sheer pleasure in writing.”
--New York Times Book Review