Ghost Milk

Recent Adventures Among the Future Ruins of London on the Eve of the Olympics

By Iain Sinclair
(Faber & Faber, Hardcover, 9780865478664, 416pp.)

Publication Date: July 17, 2012

List Price: $28.00*
* Individual store prices may vary.
Shop Local
Enter your zip code below to find indies closest to you.

Go


Description

From "an astonishingly original and entertaining writer" (Michael Dirda, "The Washington Post") and "our greatest guide to London" ("The Spectator"), an extraordinary book about a disappearing city
The Olympics, the story goes, have transformed London into a gleaming, wholly modern city. And East London--Olympic headquarters--is the city's new jewel, provider of unlimited opportunities and better tomorrows. The grime and poverty have been scrubbed away, and huge stadiums and grand public sculptures have taken their place.

The writer Iain Sinclair has lived in East London for four decades, and in "Ghost Milk," he tells a very different story about his home: that of a neighborhood turned upside down, of stolen history. Long-beloved parks have vanished; police raids can occur at any time; and high-security exclusion zones--enforced by armed guards and hidden cameras--have steamrolled East London's open streets and public spaces. To prepare for the most public of events, everything has been privatized.

A call to arms against the politicians and public figures who have so doggedly preached the gospel of the Olympics, "Ghost Milk "is also a brilliant reflection on a changing landscape--and Sinclair's most personal book yet. In an attempt to understand what has happened to his beloved city, Sinclair travels farther afield: he walks along the Thames from the North Sea to Oxford; he rides the bus across northern England; he visits Athens and Berlin, Olympic sites of the recent and distant past.

Elegiac, intimate, and audacious, "Ghost Milk "is at once a powerful chronicle of memory and loss, in the tradition of W. G. Sebald and Roberto Bolano, and a passionate interrogation of our embrace of progress at any cost.




About the Author

Iain Sinclair is the author of many books, including Downriver, Lights Out for the Territory, London Orbital, and Hackney, That Rose-Red Empire. He lives in Hackney, East London.

Indie Bookstore Finder
EBbooks and EReaders
Find great gifts: Signed books
Link to IndieBound






Update Profile