Starting Over

Starting Over Cover

Starting Over

By Elizabeth Spencer

Liveright Publishing Corporation, Hardcover, 9780871406811, 208pp.

Publication Date: January 13, 2014

On the release of her first novel in 1948, Elizabeth Spencer was immediately championed by Robert Penn Warren and Eudora Welty, setting off a remarkable career as one of the great literary voices of the American South. Her career, now spanning seven decades, continues here with nine new stories. In Starting Over, Spencer returns to the deep emotional fault lines and unseen fractures that lie just beneath the veneer of happy family life. In Sightings, a troubled daughter suddenly returns to the home of the father she accidently blinded during her parents bitter separation; in Blackie, the reappearance of a son from a divorcee's first marriage triggers a harrowing confrontation with her new family; while in The Wedding Visitor, a cousin travels home only to find himself entwined in the events leading up to a family wedding. In these nine stories, Spencer excels at revealing the flawed fabric of human relations.

About the Author
Elizabeth Spencer is the author of nine novels, seven collections of short stories, a memoir, and a play. Her novella "The Light in the Piazza" (1960) was adapted for the screen in 1962 and transformed into a Tony-winning Broadway musical of the same name in 2005. She is a member of the American Academy of Arts and Letters and a charter member of the Fellowship of Southern Writers.

Monday, Jan 20, 2014

Alan Cheuse reviews a collection of stories by Elizabeth Spencer called, Starting Over. More at

NPR Audio Player Requires Flash Upgrade: Please upgrade your plug-in to view this content.