Birthstones

By Phyllis Gotlieb; Nalo Hopkinson (Afterword by)
(Robert J Sawyer Books, Paperback, 9780889953857, 224pp.)

Publication Date: February 2007

Other Editions of This Title: Hardcover

Shop Local
Enter your zip code below to find indies closest to you.

Go


Description
On a dark and moonless planet, mutations have left women as little more than wombs, while men can teleport but have limited control over the ability. When aliens come to plunder this world's resources, the already harsh environment degrades exponentially. Will the Galactic Federation find this world in time to help the natives restore their women and save their civilization?

A visionary novel in the tradition of Ursula K. LeGuin and James Tiptree, Jr., by a leading feminist author.

With an afterword by Nalo Hopkinson.

"Phyllis Gotlieb is the grand dame of Canadian SF, a poet with a cosmic perspective who elevates space opera to high art."
-- "Robert J. Sawyer"

"The best SF novel I've read in years."
-- "The Globe and Mail" on "Flesh and Gold"

"A new novel from Phyllis Gotlieb is a major event."
-- "Candas Jane Dorsey"

"Gotlieb knows how to do it right."
-- "Analog Science Fiction and Fact"

Indie Bookstore Finder

Indie Bestsellers

All the Light We Cannot See
Anthony Doerr
Scribner Book Company
Landline
Rainbow Rowell
St. Martin's Press
New and Selected Poems
David Lehman
Scribner
Still Some Cake
James Cummins
Carnegie-Mellon University Press

Make Your Own Wishlist








Update Profile