Birthstones

By Phyllis Gotlieb; Nalo Hopkinson (Afterword by)
(Robert J Sawyer Books, Paperback, 9780889953857, 224pp.)

Publication Date: February 2007

Other Editions of This Title: Hardcover

Shop Local
Enter your zip code below to find indies closest to you.

Go


Description
On a dark and moonless planet, mutations have left women as little more than wombs, while men can teleport but have limited control over the ability. When aliens come to plunder this world's resources, the already harsh environment degrades exponentially. Will the Galactic Federation find this world in time to help the natives restore their women and save their civilization?

A visionary novel in the tradition of Ursula K. LeGuin and James Tiptree, Jr., by a leading feminist author.

With an afterword by Nalo Hopkinson.

"Phyllis Gotlieb is the grand dame of Canadian SF, a poet with a cosmic perspective who elevates space opera to high art."
-- "Robert J. Sawyer"

"The best SF novel I've read in years."
-- "The Globe and Mail" on "Flesh and Gold"

"A new novel from Phyllis Gotlieb is a major event."
-- "Candas Jane Dorsey"

"Gotlieb knows how to do it right."
-- "Analog Science Fiction and Fact"

Indie Bookstore Finder

Indie Bestsellers

Lucky Us
Amy Bloom
Random House
Good Poems, American Places
Garrison Keillor
Penguin Books
The Paleo Kitchen
Juli Bauer; George Bryant
Victory Belt Publishing
The Great Glass Sea
Josh Weil
Grove Press

Make Your Own Wishlist

FIND US ON:
IndieBound on Twitter IndieBound on Facebook







Update Profile