Wharton Cover


Novellas and Other Writings

By Edith Wharton; Cynthia G. Wolff (Editor)

Library of America, Hardcover, 9780940450530, 1137pp.

Publication Date: April 1, 1990

The second Edith Wharton volume in The Library of America series contains five tales of Edith Wharton along with her autobiography and a previously unpublished autobiographical fragment.

About the Author
Edith Wharton was a Pulitzer Prize-winning American novelist, known for such classics as The House of Mirth, Ethan Frome, and The Age of Innocence, for which she won the Pulitzer Prize in 1921. A member of the New York elite, Wharton drew on her experiences as part of society to critique its inner workings and the conflict between personal desires and societal norms. Wharton died in 1937, leaving behind a rich literary legacy.