The Chronology of Water

A Memoir

By Lidia Yuknavitch; Chelsea Cain (Introduction by)
(Hawthorne Books, Paperback, 9780979018831, 268pp.)

Publication Date: April 2011

Shop Local
Enter your zip code below to find indies closest to you.



This is not your mother’s memoir. In The Chronology of Water, Lidia Yuknavitch expertly moves the reader through issues of gender, sexuality, violence, and the family from the point of view of a lifelong swimmer turned artist. In writing that explores the nature of memoir itself, her story traces the effect of extreme grief on a young woman’s developing sexuality that some define as untraditional because of her attraction to both men and women. Her emergence as a writer evolves at the same time and takes the narrator on a journey of addiction, self-destruction, and ultimately survival that finally comes in the shape of love and motherhood.

About the Author
Yuknavitch is the recipient of grants from Literary Arts Inc., The Regional Arts and Culture Council, and Oregon Literary Arts, and a Fiction Writer's Exchange Fellowship from Poets and Writers. She teaches fiction writing, literature and cultural studies at Pacific University and San Diego State.

Chelsea Cain is the "New York Times" bestselling author of "The Night Season", "Evil at Heart", "Sweetheart", and "Heartsick". Both "Heartsick" and "Sweetheart" were listed in Stephen King's Top Ten Books of the Year in "Entertainment Weekly". Chelsea lived the first few years of her life on an Iowa commune, then grew up in Bellingham, WA, where the infamous Green River killer was "the boogieman" of her youth. The true story of the Green River killer's capture was the inspiration for the story of Gretchen and Archie. Cain lives in Portland with her husband and daughter.
Indie Bookstore Finder
EBbooks and EReaders
Find great gifts: Signed books
Link to IndieBound

Update Profile