Call Me Home

Call Me Home Cover

Call Me Home

By Megan Kruse; Elizabeth Gilbert (Introduction by)

Hawthorne Books, Paperback, 9780990437000, 292pp.

Publication Date: March 3, 2015

Description
"Call Me Home" has an epic scope in the tradition of Louise Erdrich's "The Plague of Doves" or Marilynne Robinson's "Housekeeping" and braids the stories of a family in three distinct voices: Amy, who leaves her Texas home at 19 to start a new life with a man she barely knows, and her two children, Jackson and Lydia, who are rocked by their parents abusive relationship. When Amy is forced to bargain for the safety of one child over the other, she must retrace the steps in the life she has chosen. Jackson, 18 and made visible by his sexuality, leaves home and eventually finds work on a construction crew in the Idaho mountains, where he begins a potentially ruinous affair with Don, the married foreman of his crew. Lydia, his 12-year-old sister, returns with her mother to Texas, struggling to understand what she perceives to be her mother's selfishness. At its heart, this is a novel about family, our choices and how we come to live with them, what it means to be queer in the rural West, and the changing idea of home.


About the Author


Nee en 1969 dans le Connecticut, Elizabeth Gilbert vit aujourd hui a Philadelphie et voyage regulierement au Bresil et a Bali. Ancienne journaliste a "GQ", a "Spin" et au "New York Times" entre autres, ses premiers ecrits sont remarques par les critiques finaliste du Hemingway Award avec "Pilgrims" en 1997 et du National Book Award avec "Stern Men" en 2000. Elle acquiert une notoriete internationale avec son roman autobiographique "Mange, Prie, Aime" (Calmann-Levy, 2008).