These Mortal Remains

These Mortal Remains

By Milton T. Burton

Minotaur Books, Hardcover, 9781250006387, 296pp.

Publication Date: July 16, 2013


"Milton Burton writes with a ruthless charm rivaling the great Raymond Chandler." --Kinky Freidman

Milton T. Burton has charmed readers for years with his Texas mysteries, notable for their backwoods flair, down-home characters, and Southern-flavored sense of humor. In "These Mortal Remains, "Sheriff Bo Handel returns in a mystery which will have Burton's many fans hooting and hollering. Bo Handel knows Texas's Caddo County inside and out, from the town drunks to the teen troublemakers with too much time on their hands. But when Toby, an African-American deputy and one of Bo's best cops, is shot and left wounded on the side of the road, Bo's eyes are opened to a side of his county that he's never before seen. A group of white supremacists are occupying a compound on the edge of town, and a few key members are determined to wreak havoc on those they hate. Suspenseful, provocative, and smart, "These Mortal Remains "is a fantastic final book from a beloved Southern talent.

About the Author
Milton Burton was born in Jacksonville, Texas, and has worked variously as a cattleman, college teacher, and political consultant. He now lives in Tyler. His first novel, "The Rogues' Game, " was met with wide acclaim.

Praise For These Mortal Remains

Praise for Nights of the Red Moon:
“Lively and well-crafted . . . It made me glad to return to East Texas—at least in fiction.” —Patrick Anderson, The Washington Post

“Burton takes a sure hand to the small-town politics, paperwork hassles, and easy authority of an East Texas lawman's life.” —The Houston Chronicle

“Burton's rip-snorting third mystery will appeal to fans of Bill Crider, Ben Rehder, and Kinky Friedman.” —Publishers Weekly (starred)

“A tasty slice of local pie.” —The Austin American Statesman

“Burton’s down-home, good-old-boy narrative will appeal to mystery readers who enjoy a fresh voice.” —Library Journal