The Cat Sitter's Cradle

The Cat Sitter's Cradle

By Blaize Clement; John Clement

Minotaur Books, Hardcover, 9781250009326, 290pp.

Publication Date: July 9, 2013


Blaize Clement won fans all over the world with the charm and wit of her pet-sitting mysteries. Now, with the help of her son, author John Clement, Blaize's beloved heroine Dixie Hemingway is back for yet another thrilling adventure in this critically-acclaimed series.
Dixie has built a nice, quiet life for herself in the sleepy town of Siesta Key, a sandy resort island off the coast of Florida. In fact, her pet-sitting business is going so well she's even taken on part-time help: Kenny, a handsome young surfer who lives alone in a rickety old houseboat. But things get a little messy when, on an early morning walk in the park with a client's schnauzer, Dixie makes a shocking discovery. Hidden among the leafy brambles is a homeless girl, alone and afraid, cradling a newborn baby in her arms.
Dixie takes the young girl under her wing, even though she's just been hired by Roy Harwick, the snarky executive of a multi-national oil company, to care for his equally snarky Siamese cat, Charlotte, along with his wife's priceless collection of rare, tropical fish. It's not long before Dixie stumbles upon a dead body in the unlikeliest of places, and soon she's set adrift in a murky and dangerous world in which no one is who they appear to be.
Smart, fast-paced and entertaining, The Cat Sitter's Cradle is a perfect illustration of why
Dixie's loyal fans have come to know and love her and eagerly await the next installment of her adventures.

About the Author
BLAIZE CLEMENT originated the Dixie Hemingway mystery series, starting with "Curiosity Killed the Cat Sitter "and "Duplicity Dogged the Dachshund". She collaborated with her son John Clement on the plots and characters for forthcoming novels. Blaize lived for many years in Sarasota, Florida.

JOHN CLEMENT is the son of BLAIZE CLEMENT who originated the Dixie Hemingway mystery series and collaborated with her son on the plots and characters for forthcoming novels. Blaize lived for many years in Sarasota, Florida; John lives in New York City.

Praise For The Cat Sitter's Cradle

Praise for the Dixie Hemingway Mysteries:
"Dixie’s latest adventure keeps you glued to your seat from the first chapter."
Kirkus Reviews

"Blends elements of cozy and thriller to produce an unusual and enjoyable
hybrid . . . Sure to delight readers." —Publishers Weekly

"Ingenious . . . This series is captivating . . . Here is a series that even people who dislike pet mysteries can enjoy." —Reviewing the Evidence

"For fans of Susan Conant and Clea Simon." —Library Journal

"Great ingredients and a fun plot. Frankly, I can’t wait for the sequel!" —Linda Fasulo, NPR

"Another riveting and rewarding read." —Richmond Times-Dispatch