Pagan Spring

Pagan Spring Cover

Pagan Spring

By G. M. Malliet

Minotaur Books, Hardcover, 9781250021403, 287pp.

Publication Date: October 8, 2013


"There are certain things you want in a village mystery: a pretty setting, a tasteful murder, an appealing sleuth . . . Malliet delivers all that.""" Marilyn Stasio, "The New York Times "

G. M. Malliet has charmed mystery lovers, cozy fans, and Agatha Christie devotees everywhere with "Wicked Autumn" and "A Fatal Winter, " the critically-acclaimed mysteries that introduced former spy turned cleric Max Tudor. Now, Max returns to the small English village of Nether Monkslip, where some new residents cause quite a stir.

Vicar Max Tudor, reveling in his new-found personal happiness with Awena Owen, feels that life at the moment holds no greater challenge than writing his Easter sermon. With Awena away, he looks forward to a dinner that includes newcomers to the village like West End dramatist Thaddeus Bottle and his downtrodden wife Melinda. But when one of the dinner guests is found dead in the pre-dawn hours, Max knows a poisonous atmosphere has once again enveloped his perfect village of Nether Monkslip. Connections to long-ago crimes, some sparked by the paintings of a famous local artist, help Max unravel the clues but can he restore peace to Nether Monkslip and still manage to finish his sermon? Funny, smart, and perfect for fans of Agatha Christie and Louise Penny, "Pagan Spring" is a one-of-a-kind mystery featuring everyone's favorite attractive vicar.

About the Author
G.M MALLIET is the winner of the Agatha Award for Death of a Cozy Writer. She attended Oxford University, holds a graduate degree from the University of Cambridge, and lives in the Washington DC area. "Pagan Spring" is the third book in her Max Tudor series, which also includes "Wicked Autumn" and "A Fatal Winter."

Praise For Pagan Spring

Praise for A Fatal Winter:
"For Louise Penny fans." —Library Journal (starred)  "Agatha Christie fans will relish [this] delicious . . . novel." —Publishers Weekly (starred) 
Praise for Wicked Autumn:
“Sly humor rivals Jane Austen's.” —The Boston Globe

“A classic and one almost any reader will enjoy.” —Charlaine Harris, author of the True Blood series