First Frost

A Mystery

By James Henry
(Minotaur Books, Hardcover, 9781250025531, 352pp.)

Publication Date: July 23, 2013

Shop Local
Enter your zip code below to find indies closest to you.

Go


Description

The tantalizing prequel to the detective novels of the late R. D. Wingfield featuring Detective Jack Frost—in the vein of Jill Paton Walsh’s reinvention of the works of Dorothy L. Sayers

"Brilliant! A must for all fans of Frost, but also so much more. Gripping, finely written . . . A classic, period crime thriller." Thus raves Peter James about A Touch of Frost, a prequel to the detective novels of R.D. Wingfield, who died in 2007.

In the tradition of Midsomer Murders, A Touch of Frost is one of England's longest running series of all time, and the gruff, non-conformist cop Jack Frost is as much a part of England's detective tradition as P.D. James's Adam Dalgleish or Colin Dexter's Inspector Morse. Now, by special arrangement with R.D. Wingfield's estate, this smashing new mystery has been written to give new life to this beloved policeman. In James Henry's First Frost, Detective Sergeant Jack Frost is dealing with the disappearance of his mentor. When a twelve-year-old girl goes missing from a department store changing room, Frost is put in charge of the case. Perfect for fans who have devoured A Touch of Frost on Netflix Instant as well as for those who love police procedurals, readers everywhere will applaud the return of detective Jack Frost in this pitch-perfect mystery.




About the Author

JAMES HENRY is the pen name of James Gurbutt and Henry Sutton. Gurbutt is a publisher at Constable & Robinson, R.D. Wingfield's original publisher in the 1980s, and Sutton is a crime reviewer for The Daily Mirror. Both Gurbutt and Sutton live in London, England




Praise For First Frost

"The success of First Frost is incontestable. This is a palpable hit . . . A dark but glittering pearl." —The Independent (UK) 

"Frost is back - this is a brilliant read. I can't recommend it highly enough." —Martina Cole, author of The Runaway

"A very good job of producing a novel in Wingfield's style . . . I felt like I'd made a return to an old—and loved—stamping ground . . . A very enjoyable outing with an old friend." —Reviewing the Evidence

Indie Bookstore Finder

Indie Bestsellers

All the Light We Cannot See
Anthony Doerr
Scribner Book Company
Landline
Rainbow Rowell
St. Martin's Press
New and Selected Poems
David Lehman
Scribner
Still Some Cake
James Cummins
Carnegie-Mellon University Press

Make Your Own Wishlist








Update Profile