Fangirl

By Rainbow Rowell
(St. Martin's Griffin, Hardcover, 9781250030955, 448pp.)

Publication Date: September 10, 2013

Other Editions of This Title: Compact Disc, Hardcover

Shop Local
Enter your zip code below to find indies closest to you.

Go


Description

In Rainbow Rowell's Fangirl, Cath is a Simon Snow fan. Okay, the whole world is a Simon Snow fan, but for Cath, being a fan is her life—and she’s really good at it. She and her twin sister, Wren, ensconced themselves in the Simon Snow series when they were just kids; it’s what got them through their mother leaving.

Reading. Rereading. Hanging out in Simon Snow forums, writing Simon Snow fan fiction, dressing up like the characters for every movie premiere.

Cath’s sister has mostly grown away from fandom, but Cath can’t let go. She doesn’t want to.
Now that they’re going to college, Wren has told Cath she doesn’t want to be roommates. Cath is on her own, completely outside of her comfort zone. She’s got a surly roommate with a charming, always-around boyfriend, a fiction-writing professor who thinks fan fiction is the end of the civilized world, a handsome classmate who only wants to talk about words . . . And she can’t stop worrying about her dad, who’s loving and fragile and has never really been alone.

For Cath, the question is: Can she do this? Can she make it without Wren holding her hand? Is she ready to start living her own life? And does she even want to move on if it means leaving Simon Snow behind? 

A New York Times Book Review Notable Children's Book of 2013




About the Author

RAINBOW ROWELL lives in Omaha, Nebraska, with her husband and two sons. She's also the author of LandlineEleanor & Park and Attachments.




Praise For Fangirl

Kirkus Reviews (starred review)
"Absolutely captivating." Publishers Weekly (starred review)"A funny and tender coming-of-age story that's also the story of a writer finding her voice...touching and utterly real." Booklist (starred review)"The magic here is cast not with wands but with Rowell's incredible ability to build complex, vivid, troubling and triumphant relationships...Fans of Eleanor & Park and other bookish, nerdy types will thrill at finding such a fantastic and lasting depiction of one of their own." School Library Journal (starred review)"A charming coming-of-age novel...filled with complex subjects (such as divorce, abandonment, and mental illness) handled in a realistic manner, and the writing effortlessly and seamlessly weaves these threads together." Praise for Eleanor & Park

Eleanor & Park reminded me not just what it’s like to be young and in love with a girl, but also what it’s like to be young and in love with a book.”
—John Green, The New York Times Book Review
"This sexy, smart, tender romance thrums with punk rock and true love.  Teen readers—not to mention their Gen X parents—will swoon for Eleanor & Park."
—Gayle Forman, New York Times bestselling author of If I Stay and Where She Went

"A breathless, achingly good read about love and outsiders."
—Stephanie Perkins, author of Anna and the French Kiss and Lola and the Boy Next Door

"Sweet, gritty and affecting...an unforgettable story about two misfits in love."
—Courtney Summers, author of This is Not a Test and Cracked Up To Be

"Rowell shows us the beauty in the broken."
—Stewart Lewis, author of You Have Seven Messages

Indie Bookstore Finder

Indie Bestsellers

We Were Liars
E. Lockhart
Delacorte Press
Americanah
Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie
Anchor
The Bees
Laline Paull
Ecco Press
All the Light We Cannot See
Anthony Doerr
Scribner Book Company

Make Your Own Wishlist








Update Profile