The O. Henry Prize Stories 2003

The O. Henry Prize Stories 2003 Cover

The O. Henry Prize Stories 2003

By Laura Furman (Editor)

Random House Value Publishing, Paperback, 9781400031313, 384pp.

Publication Date: September 9, 2003

Since its establishment in 1919, the O. Henry Prize stories collection has offered an exciting selection of the best stories published in hundreds of literary magazines every year. Such classic works of American literature as Ernest Hemingway's "The Killers "(1927); William Faulkner's "Barn Burning "(1939); Carson McCuller's "A Tree. A Rock. A Cloud "(1943); Shirley Jackson's "The Lottery" (1949); J.D. Salinger's "For Esme with Love and Squalor "(1963); John Cheever's "The Country Husband" (1956); and Flannery O'Conner's "Everything that Rises Must Converge" (1963) all were O. Henry Prize stories.
An accomplished new series editor--novelist and short story writer Laura Furman--has read more than a thousand stories to identify the 20 winners, each one a pleasure to read today, each one a potential classic. The O. Henry Prize Stories 2003 also contains brief essays from each of the three distinguished judges on their favorite story, and comments from the prize-winning writers on what inspired their stories. There is nothing like the ever rich, surprising, and original O. Henry collection for enjoying the contemporary short story.
"The Thing in the Forest" A. S. Byatt
"The Shell Collector" Anthony Doerr
"Burn Your Maps" Robyn Jay Leff
"Lush " Bradford Morrow
"God's Goodness" Marjorie Kemper
"Bleed Blue in Indonesia" Adam Desnoyers
"The Story" Edith Pearlman
"Swept Away" T. Coraghessan Boyle
"Meanwhile" Ann Harleman
"Three Days. A Month. More." Douglas Light
"The High Road" Joan Silber
"Election Eve" Evan S. Connell
"Irish Girl" Tim Johnston
"What Went Wrong" Tim O'Brien
"The American Embassy" Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie
"Kissing" William Kittredge
"Sacred Statues" William Trevor
"Two Words" Molly Giles
"Fathers" Alice Munro
"Train Dreams" Denis Johnson.

About the Author
Laura Furman was born in New York, and educated in New York City public schools and at Bennington College. Her first story appeared in "The New Yorker" in 1976, and since then her work has been published in many magazines, including "Yale Review, ""Southwest Review, Ploughshares, American Scholar, ""Preservation, House & Garden, " and other magazines. Her books include three collections of short stories", "two novels, ""and a memoir. She is the recipient of fellowships from the New York State Council on the Arts, the Dobie Paisano Project, the Guggenheim Foundation, and the National Endowment for the Arts. She has received grants in residency at Yaddo in Saratoga Springs, N.Y., and in 2009 she was a visiting artist at the American Academy in Rome. She taught for many years in the Department of English at the University of Texas at Austin. Series editor of "The PEN/O.Henry Prize Stories "since 2002, Furman selects the twenty winning stories each year. She lives in Central Texas.""

Praise For The O. Henry Prize Stories 2003

"You won't go away hungry . . . you'll make new friends. In the 2003 'O. Henry' . . . new series editor, Laura Furman, picked all sorts of treats." --The Seattle Times

"Widely regarded as the nation’s most prestigious awards for short fiction." --The Atlantic Monthly