The Calligrapher's Daughter

The Calligrapher's Daughter Cover

The Calligrapher's Daughter

By Eugenia Kim; Lorna Raver (Narrated by)

Tantor Media Inc, Compact Disc, 9781400143542

Publication Date: August 1, 2009

In early-twentieth-century Korea, Najin Han, the privileged daughter of a calligrapher, longs to choose her own destiny. Smart and headstrong, she is encouraged by her mother-but her stern father is determined to maintain tradition, especially as the Japanese steadily gain control of his beloved country. When he seeks to marry Najin into an aristocratic family, her mother defies generations of obedient wives and instead sends her to serve in the king's court as a companion to a young princess. But the king is soon assassinated, and the centuries-old dynastic culture comes to its end. In the shadow of the dying monarchy, Najin begins a journey through increasing oppression that will forever change her world. As she desperately seeks to continue her education, will the unexpected love she finds along the way be enough to sustain her through the violence and subjugation her country continues to face? Spanning thirty years, The Calligrapher's Daughter is a richly drawn novel in the tradition of Lisa See and Amy Tan about a country torn between ancient customs and modern possibilities, a family ultimately united by love, and a woman who never gives up her search for freedom.

About the Author
Eugenia Kim has published short stories and essays in journals and anthologies, including "Echoes Upon Echoes: New Korean American Writings," and is the author of the novel "The Calligrapher's Daughter."

Lorna Raver, an accomplished stage actress, has also guest-starred in many top television series as well as appearing on the big screen. She has been named a Best Voice of the Year by "AudioFile" magazine and has been nominated for multiple Audie Awards. Lorna has also received numerous "AudioFile" Earphones Awards for her narrations.

Praise For The Calligrapher's Daughter

"Raver's throaty richness...fits the royalty of the Korean court, where Najin's mother sends her to escape an arranged marriage." ---AudioFile