Venetia

Venetia Cover

Venetia

By Georgette Heyer

Sourcebooks Casablanca, Paperback, 9781402238840, 375pp.

Publication Date: May 3, 2011

Description
Reading Georgette Heyer is the next best thing to reading Jane Austen." Publishers WeeklyCelebrate the 80th birthday of Regency Romance with great books from Sourcebooks Casablanca

Beautiful, capable, and intendent minded, Venetia Lanyon's life on her family's estate in the country side is somewhat restricted. But her neighbor, the infamous Lord Dameral, a charming rake shunned by polite society is about to shake things up.

Lord Damerel has built his life on his dangerous reputation, and when he meets Venetia, he has nothing to offer and everything to regret. Though his scandalous past and deepest secrets give Venetia reason to mistrust him, a rogue always gets what he wants.

As Venetia's well-meaning family steps in to protect her from potential ruin, Venetia must find the wherewithal to take charge of her own destiny, or lose her chance at happiness.

Charming characters and flawless prose make Venetia a fan favorite from the Queen of Regency Romance. Fans of Mary Balogh, Elizabeth Hoyt and Jane Ashford will be delighted by this story about finding love, redemption, and the courage to follow your heart.

Other Regency Romances from Georgette Heyer:
Frederica a woman seeking security for her family finds love where, and when, she least expected it
Sylvester-She meets none of his requirements for a wife. He is the chief villain in her novel.
Cotillion- A sham betrothal isn't the only thing that gets Kitty and Freddy into trouble, but it's definitely the beginning.What readers are saying about Venetia

"There are no cardboard cutout characters, they are multi-layered, full of life whether you hate them, love them, laugh at them or barely tolerate them."

"Not only do I think that Venetia is Georgette Heyer's best novel, I think Venetia is one of her best characters and certainly one of my favorite heroines in all romance fiction."What reviewers are saying about Venetia

"A wonderful story whose characters, settings and, most importantly, dialogue combine to create such a well-crafted story."-Bags, Books, and Bon Jovi

"Wonderful characters, elegant, witty writing, perfect period detail, and rapturously romantic"-Katie Fforde

"Wonderful and lovely and perfect Venetia is one of the most charming characters EVER." Once Upon a Bookshelf

"An absolutely rollicking Regency romp. I loved it from the first page." Library QueueWhat everyone has to say about the Queen of Regency Romance Georgette Heyer

"Georgette Heyer was one of the great protagonists of the historical novel in the post-war golden age of the form. Her regency romances are delightful light reading..." Philippa Gregory

" Heyer's] characters are witty and beyond charming, her prose is flawless and lighthearted, and her historical detail is immaculate."-Read All Over Reviews

"Georgette Heyer is unbeatable." -Sunday Telegraph.



About the Author
Georgette Heyer's novels have charmed and delighted millions of readers for decades. English Heritage has awarded Georgette Heyer one of their prestigious Blue Plaques, designating her Wimbledon home as the residence of an important figure in British history. She was born in Wimbledon in August 1902. She wrote her first novel, The Black Moth, at the age of seventeen to amuse her convalescent brother; it was published in 1921 and became an instant success.

Heyer published 56 books over the next 53 years, until her death from lung cancer in 1974. Her last book, My Lord John, was published posthumously in 1975. A very private woman, she rarely reached out to the public to discuss her works or personal life. Her work included Regency romances, mysteries and historical fiction. Known as the Queen of Regency romance, Heyer was legendary for her research, historical accuracy and her extraordinary plots and characterizations. She was married to George Ronald Rougier, a barrister, and they had one son, Richard.