The Rose Garden

The Rose Garden Cover

The Rose Garden

By Susanna Kearsley

Sourcebooks Landmark, Paperback, 9781402258589, 441pp.

Publication Date: October 4, 2011

Description
"An enthralling and achingly romantic read. Top Pick in Romance." - BookPage

Eva returns to the only place that has ever felt like home, but she quickly discovers she is not alone in the old house on the Cornwall coast. The past reaches out to touch the present in this beautiful love story and haunting mystery.

"Whatever time we have," he said, "it will be time enough."

Eva Ward returns to the only place she truly belongs, the old house on the coast of Cornwall, England, seeking happiness in memories of childhood summers.

There she finds mysterious voices and hidden pathways that sweep her not only into the past, but also into the arms of a man who is not of her time.

But Eva must confront her own ghosts, as well as those of long ago. As she begins to question her place in the present, she comes to realize that she too must decide where she really belongs.
A modern gothic historical fiction with elements of time travel, reincarnation, and romance from New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Susanna Kearsley.

Fans of Diana Gabaldon, Mary Stewart, Kate Morton, and Daphne Du Maurier will want to join Julia and Mariana on their journeys to love, past and present.

Other great books by Susanna Kearsley:
The Winter Sea Winner of an RT Reviewers Choice Award, RITA finalist, finalist for the UK's Romantic Novel of the Year Award
The Firebird RITA Winner, Paranormal Romance
Mariana Winner of the Catherine Cookson Fiction Prize

Susanna has had books selected for the Mystery Guild, was a finalist for the UK's Romantic Novel of the Year Award, and won a National Readers' Choice Award and a RITA.What readers are saying about The Rose Garden

"a haunting, atmospheric and romantic story"

"I am fascinated by the way she seamlessly melds past and present"

"the romance is simultaneously subtle and yet stunning."

"The book is a beautiful love story with mystery, thrills and just the type of book I love to read."

"A delightful blend of romance, time travel and historical fiction that actually reminded me a bit of one of my favorite books, Outlander."

"like A CROSS BETWEEN THE OUTLANDER SERIES AND THE TIME TRAVELER'S WIFE, but told with Kearsley's gentle voice."What reviewers are saying about The Rose Garden

"A THRILLING, haunting, and deeply romantic story." -Rachel Hore, internationally bestselling author of The Memory Garden

..". brilliantly brings together past and present. 4 1/2 Stars, Top Pick of the Month" - RT Book Reviews

"Kearsley makes the impossible seem real as she weaves a tale full of genuine characters and a strong sense of place and makes history come alive." - Booklist

"an ENTHRALLING AND ACHINGLY ROMANTIC read. Top Pick in Romance." - BookPage

..".an imaginatively captivating trip through time." - Fresh Fiction What everyone is saying about Susanna Kearsley:

"Kearsley blends history, romance and a bit of the supernatural into a glittering, BEWITCHING tale."-Kirkus

"A MAGICAL, not to be missed read." -RT Book Reviews Top Pick, 4 1/2stars

"A CREATIVE TOUR DE FORCE. Sometimes an author catches lightning in a bottle, and Susanna Kearsley has done just that." - New York Journal of Books.



About the Author
Susanna Kearsley's writing has been compared to Mary Stewart, Daphne du Maurier, and Diana Gabaldon. Her books have been translated into several languages, selected for the Mystery Guild, condensed for Reader's Digest, and optioned for film. She lives in Canada, near the shores of Lake Ontario.

Join the Conversation

Join the Conversation

Sign up today to hear about books and authors from an independent bookstore near you.