Last Light over Carolina

Last Light over Carolina Cover

Last Light over Carolina

By Mary Alice Monroe

Gallery Books, Hardcover, 9781416549703, 384pp.

Publication Date: July 14, 2009

Description

From the New York Times bestselling author of Time Is a River comes a new lyrical and emotionally satisfying novel that will sweep readers away to the seductive southern landscape—in the tradition of Sue Monk Kidd and Anne Rivers Siddons.

With a warm voice that brings the South to life, New York Times bestselling author Mary Alice Monroe writes richly textured novels that intimately portray the complex and emotional relationships shared among family, friends, and the natural world. Here, in Last Light Over Carolina, Monroe tells the haunting and touching story of a longtime shrimp boat captain and his wife of thirty years the day he is injured at sea.

On an otherwise ordinary day, in a small shrimping village off the coast of South Carolina, a boat goes missing. The entire town rallies as all are mobilized to find the lost vessel. Throughout the course of one day, flashbacks of Bud Morrison, the captain on board, and Carolina, his wife, reveal the happier days of a once-thriving shrimping industry juxtaposed with the memories of their long term marriage.

Through her wonderfully evocative storytelling and keen insights into the human heart, Mary Alice Monroe has yet again delivered an exceptional and engaging work of fiction.