The House at Riverton

By Kate Morton
(Washington Square Press, Paperback, 9781416550532, 496pp.)

Publication Date: March 3, 2009

Other Editions of This Title: Hardcover, Compact Disc, MP3 CD, MP3 CD, , MP3 CD, Compact Disc, MP3 CD, Compact Disc, MP3 CD, Compact Disc, Compact Disc

Shop Local
Enter your zip code below to find indies closest to you.

Go


Selected by Indie Booksellers for the Fall '09/Winter '10 Reading Group List
“Grace Bradley has had a very long life and is now starting to fade. When she receives a letter about a film that is soon to be made about a tragedy that occurred between the world wars at Riverton, an estate where she was a housemaid, she is forced to relive her years of service at Riverton and her life after leaving it. You will be totally drawn into Grace's life and will not want the book to end.”
-- Roberta, Alibi Books, Glenview, IL


Description

The House at Riverton is a gorgeous debut novel set in England between the wars. Perfect for fans of Downton Abbey, it is the story of an aristocratic family, a house, a mysterious death and a way of life that vanished forever, told in flashback by a woman who witnessed it all and kept a secret for decades.

Grace Bradley went to work at Riverton House as a servant when she was just a girl, before the First World War. For years her life was inextricably tied up with the Hartford family, most particularly the two daughters, Hannah and Emmeline.

In the summer of 1924, at a glittering society party held at the house, a young poet shot himself. The only witnesses were Hannah and Emmeline and only they -- and Grace -- know the truth.

In 1999, when Grace is ninety-eight years old and living out her last days in a nursing home, she is visited by a young director who is making a film about the events of that summer. She takes Grace back to Riverton House and reawakens her memories. Told in flashback, this is the story of Grace's youth during the last days of Edwardian aristocratic privilege shattered by war, of the vibrant twenties and the changes she witnessed as an entire way of life vanished forever.

The novel is full of secrets -- some revealed, others hidden forever, reminiscent of the romantic suspense of Daphne du Maurier. It is also a meditation on memory, the devastation of war and a beautifully rendered window into a fascinating time in history.

Originally published to critical acclaim in Australia, already sold in ten countries and a #1 bestseller in England, The House at Riverton is a vivid, page-turning novel of suspense and passion, with characters -- and an ending -- the reader won't soon forget.




About the Author

Kate Morton, a native Australian, holds degrees in dramatic art and English literature. She lives with her family in Brisbane, Australia.




Praise For The House at Riverton

"This novel will challenge your definitions of friendship, family and, most of all, trust." -- Hallmark Magazine

"An extraordinary debut...written with a lovely turn of phrase. [Morton] knows how to eke out tantalizing secrets and drama." -- The Sunday Telegraph (UK)

Indie Bookstore Finder




The House at Riverton

 

More Book Videos










Update Profile