The Islands of the Blessed

The Islands of the Blessed Cover

The Islands of the Blessed

By Nancy Farmer; Jon Foster (Illustrator)

Atheneum Books, Hardcover, 9781416907374, 479pp.

Publication Date: October 20, 2009

In thismuch-anticipated conclusion to the "Sea of Trolls" trilogy, Notland is no place to seek one's true calling. Or is it?

About the Author
Nancy Farmer has written three Newbery Honor books: "The Ear, the Eye and the Arm"; "A Girl Named Disaster"; and "The House of the Scorpion", which, in 2002, also won the National Book Award and the Printz Honor. Other books include The Lord of Opium", "The Sea of Trolls", "The Land of the Silver Apples", "The Islands of the Blessed", "Do You Know Me", "The Warm Place", and three picture books for young children. She grew up on the Arizona-Mexico border and now lives with her family in the Chiricahua Mountains of Arizona.

Praise For The Islands of the Blessed

"It's a wondrous tale of hobgoblins, mermaids and sea hags, Saxons and Northmen, old gods and young bards, thoroughly steeping readers in Norse mythology. It's also a long, beautifully written tale, expertly weaving together several story lines and informing readers new to the series of crucial plot points from the previous volumes." -- Kirkus Reviews, Starred Review