Ruby Lu, Star of the Show

By Lenore Look; Stef Choi (Illustrator)
(Atheneum Books for Young Readers, Hardcover, 9781416917755, 144pp.)

Publication Date: February 8, 2011

Other Editions of This Title: Paperback

Shop Local
Enter your zip code below to find indies closest to you.

Go


Description

Ruby is starting third grade, and she can't wait! In third grade you get to join clubs, like for knitting and ballroom dancing and yoga. In third grade you get to sign up for a musical instrument (Ruby is convinced that she is destined to play the harp) and play in the orchestra. In third grade you also get to learn cursive...and that's only the beginning! But for Ruby Lu, third grade also means an especially big change: her father loses his job. When her mother goes to work to support the family, Ruby and Oscar have to adjust to her father's bizarre caretaking, which is definitely not all fun and games. And then there's the fact that money is tighter than ever. Ruby is determined to change things, though. Surely there's a way for her to make a million dollars!

As Ruby is about to discover, making money isn't easy...but having a loving family is the most valuable thing of all. This is another funny, charming, heartfelt gem from Lenore Look.




About the Author

Lenore Look is the author of Ruby Lu, Brave and True, an ALA Notable Book; Love As Strong As Ginger, illustrated by Caldecott Honor artist Stephen T. Johnson; and Henry's First-Moon Birthday, illustrated by Yumi Heo. She lives in Randolph, New Jersey.




Praise For Ruby Lu, Star of the Show

“Ruby is as effervescent and charming as ever.”—Booklist

“Leavening the seriousness of her family’s money worries is Ruby’s Ramona-like talent for getting into trouble. (Young readers will think of Lilly and her purple plastic purse when Ruby’s beloved third-grade teacher Mr. Yu sends home a letter about her bad grades—Ruby draws a picture of him being struck by lightning, then features him in a less-than-flattering haiku.) Ruby and her family, along with cousin Flying Duck and the rest of the 20th Avenue Plum Club, are as comfortably familiar—and entertaining—as ever.” –The Horn Book

“Although the overall tone is lighthearted, Look provides some real insight into the struggles a family faces when its main breadwinner is out of work, and she resists providing an easy resolution. Fans of Sara Pennypacker’s Clementine and Katy Kelly’s Lucy Rose should definitely meet Ruby Lu.” –Kirkus Reviews

“A fun easy chapter book despite the heavier issues.” School Library Journal

Indie Bookstore Finder











Update Profile