Nothing Like You

Nothing Like You

By Lauren Strasnick

Simon Pulse, Hardcover, 9781416982647, 209pp.

Publication Date: October 20, 2009

Description
When Holly loses her virginity to Paul, a guy she barely knows, she assumes their encounter is a one-night stand. After all, Paul is too popular to even be speaking to Holly...and he happens to have a long-term girlfriend, Saskia. But ever since Holly's mom died six months ago, Holly has been numb to the world, and she's getting desperate to feel something, anything--so when Paul keeps pursuing her, Holly relents. Paul's kisses are a welcome diversion...and it's nice to feel like the kind of girl that a guy like Paul would choose.
But things aren t so simple with Saskia around. Paul's real girlfriend is willowy and perfect... and nothing like Holly. To make matters worse, she and Holly are becoming friends. Suddenly the consequences of Holly's choices are all too real, and Holly stands to lose more than she ever realized she had.
"Nothing Like You" is candid and quick-paced, with characters you can t help but want the best for. --Deb Caletti, National Book Award finalist for "Honey, Baby, Sweetheart.


About the Author
Laurence Strasnick a grandi dans le Connecticut et vit a present a Los Angeles en Californie. Passionnee par l ecriture depuis son enfance, elle a ecrit sa premiere nouvelle a dix ans. Et La toute premiere fois, son premier roman a ete salue par la critique pour ses qualites litteraires.


Praise For Nothing Like You

"Nothing Like You is candid and quick-paced, with characters you can't help but want the best for." -- Deb Caletti, author of Honey, Baby, Sweetheart



". . . the playing out of the emotional causes and consequences of high-school sex is honestly handled."

--The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books, January 2010



"Sex, alcohol and grief mix with gentle humor to drive Strasnick’s first novel...[T]he writing is tight and avoids melodrama. Secondary characters are strong, and Holly’s emotional growth is believable....The fast-paced story will appeal to fans of Meg Cabot and Sarah Dessen." --Kirkus Reviews





"First-time novelist Strasnick reveals the all-too-frequent scenario of a boy using a girl for sex and a girl trading sex for a semblance of love....[T]he book's complex characters and realistic ending will intrigue teen readers and may serve as a none-too-subtle object lesson for future relationships." --Booklist





"[A] realistic portrayal of a teen needing to feel wanted, secure, and loved....[R]egardless of Holly's mistakes and her excuses for Paul's caddish behavior, readers will find it easy to empathize with her." --SLJ





"Nothing Like You is happy, sad, funny, and heartbreaking all at the same time." --Sacramento Book Review