Nothing Like You

By Lauren Strasnick
(Simon Pulse, Hardcover, 9781416982647, 224pp.)

Publication Date: October 20, 2009

Other Editions of This Title: Paperback

Shop Local
Enter your zip code below to find indies closest to you.

Go


Description

When Holly loses her virginity to Paul, a guy she barely knows, she assumes their encounter is a one-night stand. After all, Paul is too popular to even be speaking to Holly...and he happens to have a long-term girlfriend, Saskia. But ever since Holly’s mom died six months ago, Holly has been numb to the world, and she’s getting desperate to feel something, anything--so when Paul keeps pursuing her, Holly relents. Paul’s kisses are a welcome diversion...and it’s nice to feel like the kind of girl that a guy like Paul would choose.

But things aren’t so simple with Saskia around. Paul’s real girlfriend is willowy and perfect... and nothing like Holly. To make matters worse, she and Holly are becoming friends. Suddenly the consequences of Holly’s choices are all too real, and Holly stands to lose more than she ever realized she had.

Nothing Like You is candid and quick-paced, with characters you can’t help but want the best for.” --Deb Caletti, National Book Award finalist for Honey, Baby, Sweetheart




About the Author

Lauren Strasnick grew up in Greenwich, Connecticut, now lives in Los Angeles, California, and is a graduate of Emerson College and the California Institute of the Arts MFA Writing Program. She wrote her first short story, “Yours Truly, The Girls from Bunk Six,” in a cloth-bound 5x4 journal, in the fifth grade. She is the author of Then You Were Gone, Nothing Like You, and Her and Me and You. Find out more at LaurenStrasnick.com, and follow her on Twitter at @laurenstrasnick.




Praise For Nothing Like You

"Nothing Like You is candid and quick-paced, with characters you can't help but want the best for." -- Deb Caletti, author of Honey, Baby, Sweetheart

". . . the playing out of the emotional causes and consequences of high-school sex is honestly handled."

--The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books, January 2010

"Sex, alcohol and grief mix with gentle humor to drive Strasnick’s first novel...[T]he writing is tight and avoids melodrama. Secondary characters are strong, and Holly’s emotional growth is believable....The fast-paced story will appeal to fans of Meg Cabot and Sarah Dessen." --Kirkus Reviews



"First-time novelist Strasnick reveals the all-too-frequent scenario of a boy using a girl for sex and a girl trading sex for a semblance of love....[T]he book's complex characters and realistic ending will intrigue teen readers and may serve as a none-too-subtle object lesson for future relationships." --Booklist



"[A] realistic portrayal of a teen needing to feel wanted, secure, and loved....[R]egardless of Holly's mistakes and her excuses for Paul's caddish behavior, readers will find it easy to empathize with her." --SLJ



"Nothing Like You is happy, sad, funny, and heartbreaking all at the same time." --Sacramento Book Review

Indie Bookstore Finder

Indie Bestsellers

Confessions of a Self-Help Writer
Benjamin Dehaven
Lagniappe Publishing
Annihilation
Jeff VanderMeer
FSG Originals
The Martian
Andy Weir
Crown
Benediction
Kent Haruf
Vintage

Make Your Own Wishlist








More than 150 writers from 40 events will gather in New York City for PEN World Voices Festival of International Literature, April 28 – May 4, 2014.

For its 10th anniversary, the festival celebrates those who have dared to stand β€˜on the edge,’ risking their careers, and sometimes their lives, to speak out for their art and beliefs. Join us for a wide range of events, including debates, one-on-one conversations, participatory workshops and performances in venues throughout the city. Use the code PEN14 (use PEN2014 for events at The Public Theater) and receive a 20 percent discount on most events. www.worldvoicesfestival.org

Update Profile