Good Fortune

By Noni Carter
(Simon & Schuster Children's Publishing, Paperback, 9781416984818, 485pp.)

Publication Date: January 4, 2011

List Price: $9.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.
Shop Local
Enter your zip code below to find indies closest to you.

Go


Description

Ayanna Bahati lives in a small African village when she is brutally kidnapped, along with her brother, and forced onto a slave ship to America. As Ayanna, renamed Anna, rises from the cotton fields to the master’s house, she finds the familial love she’s been yearning for in elderly Mary and Mary’s son Daniel—but she is also faced with more threats to her survival. Risking everything to escape the plantation, Anna manages to make it north and to freedom, eventually settling in the free black community of Hudson, Ohio, and educating herself to become a teacher.

In the tradition of Copper Sun and Chains, this is the stirring tale of a girl’s journey from Africa to freedom and from youth to womanhood, as recounted in this dazzling debut novel.




About the Author
NONI CARTER is a 19-year-old honors student who enjoys writing, music and tennis. She is a sophmore at Harvard University. Noni lives in Fairburn, Georgia with her parents, two younger sisters, and an older brother. "Good Fortune" is her first novel.
Indie Bookstore Finder
EBbooks and EReaders
Find great gifts: Signed books
Link to IndieBound






Update Profile