Iva Honeysuckle Discovers the World

By Candice Ransom; Heather Ross (Illustrator)
(Disney-Hyperion, Hardcover, 9781423131731, 160pp.)

Publication Date: April 2012

Other Editions of This Title: Paperback

Shop Local
Enter your zip code below to find indies closest to you.

Go


Selected by Indie Booksellers for the Summer 2012 Kids' Next List
“Eight-year-old Iva is certain that she's destined for greatness and poised to make her first big discovery. But there are bumps in the road -- especially her bossy double-first-cousin, Heaven. All Iva wants in the world is to find her great-great-grandfather's buried treasure and a friend who understands. After many misadventures, Iva despairs of finding either, but it turns out that friendship, like buried treasure, can turn up in the most unexpected places. I loved this charming little book, sprinkled with Southern flair and a quirky cast of small-town characters. Recommended for fans of Clementine and Ivy and Bean.”
-- Megan Kennedy, Hooray for Books!, Alexandria, VA


Description

Eight-year-old Iva Honeycutt is sure that she's destined for greatness. And this summer Iva has big plans to make her first great discovery: finding General Braddock's treasure, which was buried somewhere in her small town of Uncertain, Virginia during the French and Indian War. And to make sure she's up to the task, she invents a new name for her discoverer self, Iva Honeysuckle.

Still, even a great discoverer can hit a few bumps on the road. Like Iva's bossy double-first cousin, Heaven. And her great-great-grandfather Ludwell's treasure map not exactly being crystal clear. And on top of it all, her supposedly trusty dog, Sweetlips, falling asleep on the job. Must Iva do everything on her own?

Candice Ransom and Heather Ross have created a sweet, self-assured and completely irrepressible heroine in Iva.

Indie Bookstore Finder

Indie Bestsellers

Lucky Us
Amy Bloom
Random House
Good Poems, American Places
Garrison Keillor
Penguin Books
The Paleo Kitchen
Juli Bauer; George Bryant
Victory Belt Publishing
The Great Glass Sea
Josh Weil
Grove Press

Make Your Own Wishlist








Update Profile