Unorthodox

The Scandalous Rejection of My Hasidic Roots

By Deborah Feldman
(Simon & Schuster, Hardcover, 9781439187005, 272pp.)

Publication Date: February 14, 2012

Other Editions of This Title: Paperback

Shop Local
Enter your zip code below to find indies closest to you.

Go


Description

In the tradition of Ayaan Hirsi Ali’s Infidel and Carolyn Jessop’s Escape, Unorthodox is a captivating story about a young woman determined to live her own life at any cost.

The Satmar sect of Hasidic Judaism is as mysterious as it is intriguing to outsiders. In this arresting memoir, Deborah Feldman reveals what life is like trapped within a religious tradition that values silence and suffering over individual freedoms.

The child of a mentally disabled father and a mother who abandoned the community while her daughter was still a toddler, Deborah was raised by her strictly religious grandparents, Bubby and Zeidy. Along with a rotating cast of aunts and uncles, they enforced customs with a relentless emphasis on rules that governed everything from what Deborah could wear and to whom she could speak, to what she was allowed to read. As she grew from an inquisitive little girl to an independent-minded young woman, stolen moments reading about the empowered literary characters of Jane Austen and Louisa May Alcott helped her to imagine an alternative way of life. She had no idea how to seize this dream that seemed to beckon to her from the skyscrapers of Manhattan, but she was determined to find a way. The tension between Deborah’s desires and her responsibilities as a good Satmar girl grew more explosive until, at the age of seventeen, she found herself trapped in a sexually and emotionally dysfunctional marriage to a man she had met for only thirty minutes before they became engaged. As a result, she experienced debilitating anxiety that was exacerbated by the public shame of having failed to immediately consummate her marriage and thus serve her husband. But it wasn’t until she had a child at nineteen that Deborah realized more than just her own future was at stake, and that, regardless of the obstacles, she would have to forge a path—for herself and her son—to happiness and freedom.

***

From UNorthodox:

I have secrets too. Maybe Bubby knows about them, but she won’t say anything about mine if I don’t say anything about hers. Or perhaps I have only imagined her complicity; there is a chance this agreement is only one-sided. Would Bubby tattle on me? I hide my books under the bed, and she hides hers in her lingerie, and once a year when Zeidy inspects the house for Passover, poking through our things, we hover anxiously, terrified of being found out. Zeidy even rifles through my underwear drawer. Only when I tell him that this is my private female stuff does he desist, unwilling to violate a woman’s privacy, and move on to my grandmother’s wardrobe. She is as defensive as I am when he rummages through her lingerie. We both know that our small stash of secular books would shock my grandfather more than a pile of chametz, the forbidden leavening, ever could. Bubby might get away with a scolding, but I would not be spared the full extent of my grandfather’s wrath. When my zeide gets angry, his long white beard seems to lift up and spread around his face like a fiery flame. I wither instantly in the heat of his scorn. “Der tumeneh shprach!” he thunders at me when he overhears me speaking to my cousins in English. An impure language, Zeidy says, acts like a poison to the soul. Reading an English book is even worse; it leaves my soul vulnerable, a welcome mat put out for the devil.




About the Author

Deborah Feldman was raised in the Hasidic community of Satmar in the Williamsburg section of Brooklyn, New York. She attends Sarah Lawrence College and lives in New York City with her son.




Conversation Starters from ReadingGroupChoices.com

CONVERSATION STARTERS

  1. The heroines in the books Deborah read as a girl were her first inspirations, the first to make her consider her own potential outside of her community. Which literary characters have inspired you?




Praise For Unorthodox

One of O magazine's "10 Titles to Pick Up Now"

eoeDeborah Feldman was raised in an insular, oppressiveworld where she was taught that, as a woman, she wasne(TM)t capable of independent thought. But she found the pluck and determination needed to make the break from that world and has written a brave, riveting account of her journey. Unorthodoxis harrowing, yet triumphant.e e"Jeannette Walls, #1 bestselling author of The Glass Castle and Half Broke Horses

eoe[Feldmane(TM)s] matter-of-fact style masks some penetrating insights.e e"The New York Times

eoeAn unprecedented view into a Hasidic community that few outsiders ever experience. . . . Unorthodox reminds us that there are religious communities in the United States that restrict young women to marriage and motherhood. These women are expected to be obedient to their community and religion, without question or complaint, no matter the price.e e"Minneapolis Star-Tribune

eoeRiveting . . . extraordinary.e e"Marie Claire

eoeEloquent, appealing, and just emotional enough . . . No doubt girls all over Brooklyn are buying this book, hiding it under their mattresses, reading it after lights oute"and contemplating, perhaps for the first time, their own escape.e e"HuffingtonPost.com

eoeDeborah Feldman has stripped the cloak off the insular Satmar sect of Hasidic Judaism, offering outsiders a rare glimpse into the ultraconservative world in which she was raised.e e"Globe and Mail (Toronto)

eoeCompulsively readable, Unorthodox relates a unique coming-of-age story that manages to speak personally to anyone who has ever felt like an outsider in her own life. Feldman bravely lays her soul bare, unflinchingly sharing intimate thoughts and ideas unthinkable within the deeply religious existence of the Satmars. . . . Teens will devour this candid, detailed memoir of an insular way of life so unlike that of the surrounding society.e e"School Library Journal

eoe[Feldmane(TM)s] no-holds-barred memoir bookstores on February 14th. And ite(TM)s not exactly a Valentine to the insular world of shtreimels, sheitels and shtiebels. Instead, [Unorthodox] describes an oppressive community in which secular education is minimal, outsiders are feared and disdained, English-language books are forbidden, mental illness is left untreated, abuse and other crimes go unreported . . . a surprisingly moving, well-written and vivid coming-of-age tale.e e"The Jewish Week

eoeImagine Frank McCourt as a Jewish virgin, and you've got Unorthodox in a nutshell . . . a sensitive and memorable coming-of-age story.e e"Pittsburgh Post-Gazette

eoe[Deborah Feldman's]is an extraordinary story of struggle and dream. . . . Both her escape and her decision to tell her story are magnificent acts of courage.e e"Anouk Markovits, author ofI Am Forbidden

eoeUnorthodox is a fascinating book . . . Feldmane(TM)s voice resonates throughout.e e"The Jewish Daily Forward

eoeDenied every kind of nourishment except the doughy, shimmering plates of food obsessively produced by her Holocaust-survivor grandmother . . . books nourish [Feldmane(TM)s] spirit and put in her hands the liberatory power of storytelling. As she becomes a reader and then a writer, Feldman reinvents herself as a human being.e e"Newsday (New York)

eoeUnorthodoz is painfully good. . . .Unlike so many other authors who have left Orthodoxy and written about it, [Feldmane(TM)s] heart is not hardened by hatred, and her spirit is wounded but intact. . . . She is a sensitive and talented writer.e e"JewishJournal.com

eoeUnorthodox is consistently engaging. And the very fact of it is touching. For years . . . [Feldman] examined library shelves, marveling that there were so many men and women who believed in their e~innate right . . . to speak their mind in whatever way they saw fit.e(TM) That she has joined their ranks is remarkable indeed.e e"BarnesandNobleReview.com

eoeFeldman gives us special insight into a closed and repressive world. . . . Her memoir is fresh and tart and utterly absorbing.e e"Library Journal

eoeNicely written . . . [An] engaging and at times gripping insight into Brooklyn's Hasidic community.e e"Publishers Weekly

eoeA remarkable tale.e e"Kirkus Reviews

eoeFeldmane(TM)s evolution as well as her look inside a closed community make for fascinating reading e her storytellere(TM)s sense and a keen eye for details give readers a you-are-there sense of what it is like to be different when everyone else is the same.e e"Booklist

Indie Bookstore Finder

Unorthodox

 

More Book Videos



Indie Bestsellers

All the Light We Cannot See
Anthony Doerr
Scribner Book Company
Landline
Rainbow Rowell
St. Martin's Press
New and Selected Poems
David Lehman
Scribner
Still Some Cake
James Cummins
Carnegie-Mellon University Press

Make Your Own Wishlist








Update Profile