Such Wicked Intent

The Apprenticeship of Victor Frankenstein, Book Two

By Kenneth Oppel
(Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers, Hardcover, 9781442403185, 320pp.)

Publication Date: August 21, 2012

Other Editions of This Title: Paperback

Shop Local
Enter your zip code below to find indies closest to you.

Go


Description

Devotion turns deadly in this second Gothic thriller from Kenneth Oppel.

When does obsession become madness? Tragedy has forced sixteen-year-old Victor Frankenstein to swear off alchemy forever. He burns the Dark Library. He vows he will never dabble in the dark sciences again—just as he vows he will no longer covet Elizabeth, his brother’s betrothed.

     If only these things were not so tempting.

     When he and Elizabeth discover a portal into the spirit world, they cannot resist. Together with Victor’s twin, Konrad, and their friend Henry, the four venture into a place of infinite possibilities where power and passion reign. But as they search for the knowledge to raise the dead, they unknowingly unlock a darkness from which they may never return.




About the Author

Kenneth Oppel has published more than fifteen books for children. In 1995, he won the Air Canada Award for the best Canadian writer under the age of thirty. Formerly Books for Young People Editor at Quill & Quire magazine, he now writes full time. He lives in Toronto, Ontario, with his wife and children.




Praise For Such Wicked Intent

* "Printz honor-winner Oppel skillfully portrays [Victor] as both a troubled teen and the boy who would become Frankenstein. Addictions and lustful encounters add another layer of sophistication to the gothic melodrama. A standout sequel and engrossing ghost story."--Kirkus Reviews, starred review

"Everything readers love about Oppel is here: his fierce intelligence; baroque but concise prose; developed, unsentimental characters; and ability to keep his eye on the prize—in this case, the stubborn, yet somehow still likable, character of Victor and his slow road to becoming Mary Shelley’s mad scientist."--Booklist

"Oppel’s second book in The Dark Endeavor Chronicles is every bit as thrilling and engaging as the first one.... Oppel’s character development is exceptional, and it is clear that he has done his research. The book draws readers in from the beginning and continues to create suspense as the characters go in and out of the spirit world, where dark creatures lurk. Fans of both Oppel’s first book and Shelley’s original work will not be disappointed."--VOYA

"Kenneth Oppel creates a darkly Gothic world so unique it’s not bound by literary traditions.... Mr. Oppel is an expert storyteller and an outstanding world builder."--NY Journal of Books

"Vividly descriptive language and further development of complex main characters keep the narrative intense and engaging.... The improbable doesn’t seem so impossible thanks to Oppel’s impressive storytelling ability."--The Horn Book

"Fans of Kenneth Oppel and This Dark Endeavor will seize upon this tightly written, morbid tale in which the familiar adventurers blossom into more complete, nuanced characters who fight to save themselves from their own worst instincts."

Indie Bookstore Finder

Indie Bestsellers

We Were Liars
E. Lockhart
Delacorte Press
Americanah
Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie
Anchor
The Bees
Laline Paull
Ecco Press
All the Light We Cannot See
Anthony Doerr
Scribner Book Company

Make Your Own Wishlist








Update Profile