Southern Charm

By Tinsley Mortimer
(Simon & Schuster, Hardcover, 9781451627473, 256pp.)

Publication Date: May 1, 2012

Other Editions of This Title: Paperback, Compact Disc, Compact Disc, MP3 CD

Shop Local
Enter your zip code below to find indies closest to you.

Go


Description

A modern Manhattan fairy tale with the sparkle of a champagne cocktail, Tinsley Mortimer’s debut novel provides a delicious peek into her world of society, fashion, and big-city fame.

SOUTHERN GIRL Minty Davenport has always dreamed of skyscrapers, yellow cabs, and a life like Eloise’s in New York City. So upon graduation from college, she bids adieu to Charleston and makes a beeline for the Big Apple. Almost instantly, she finds herself at an event being photographed for Women’s Wear Daily, and her career as a New York society “It Girl” is launched. As Minty navigates the ironclad customs of New York society, a blossoming love life, and a job working for a ruthless and powerful publicist, she finds that the rules a southern belle lives by—being nice to everyone, accentuating her femininity, and minding her manners—don’t necessarily guarantee success in Manhattan. She may indeed be accumulating new friends and opportunities along with boldfaced mentions and a very eligible bachelor boyfriend, but someone is plotting her very public downfall. When Minty gets to the top of the social ladder, she must decide if the glamorous life she thought she wanted is really everything she hoped it would be.

Tinsley Mortimer’s insider observations about New York’s elite are deliciously witty, and the heart of her book is that of an irresistibly lovable young woman who is on the brink of finding her dream.




About the Author

Tinsley Mortimer grew up in Richmond, Virginia and is a graduate of the Lawrenceville School and Columbia University. Known for her self-proclaimed “girly girl” style, Tinsley has since been featured on the pages of Vogue, WWD, Harper’s Bazaar, and Marie Claire magazine, to name a few. She is frequently featured in celebrity publications, such as Us Weekly, OK!, Life & Style, and In Touch. Tinsley has also served as a “Beauty Ambassador” for Christian Dior and helped to create a lip gloss called Tinsley Pink for the brand. She designs a line of handbags for the Japanese company Samantha Thavasa and is currently working on her own ready-to-wear line available only in Japan. She has starred in the reality television show High Society, and has appeared on Dr. Phil, America’s Next Top Model, Extra, Access Hollywood, E!, E True Hollywood Story “Society Girls,”  Bravo’s The Fashion Show, Gossip Girl, Germany’s RTL, LXTV, Good Day New York, Good Day LA, and CW11 Morning News.




Praise For Southern Charm

“A pink Ladurée macaron of a novel.”

“Readers will delight in watching Minty sweetly take on the Big Apple.”

“Tinsley Mortimer's first book, Southern Charm, is just that: CHARMING! It’s like a mint julep—sweet, sassy and with a kick, all set against the glittering backdrop of the New York social scene—a modern day fashion fairy tale!”
-Carson Kressley

Southern Charm will remind you of who you were before you became a jaded New Yorker.”
-Kelly Rutherford

“A delicious journey. . . . It was exactly the escape I was looking for. In the vein of Plum Syke's Bergdorf Blondes, Southern Charm gives a pinhole into a world most will only dream of or read about in Page Six.”

Indie Bookstore Finder

Indie Bestsellers

Lucky Us
Amy Bloom
Random House
Good Poems, American Places
Garrison Keillor
Penguin Books
The Paleo Kitchen
Juli Bauer; George Bryant
Victory Belt Publishing
The Great Glass Sea
Josh Weil
Grove Press

Make Your Own Wishlist








Update Profile