The Road of Danger

By David Drake
(Baen Books, Mass Market Paperbound, 9781451638783, 512pp.)

Publication Date: February 26, 2013

List Price: $7.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.
Shop Local
Enter your zip code below to find indies closest to you.

Go


Description
National Best Seller in hardcover." " Brilliant and brave starship captain Daniel Leary and ace spy Adele Mundy return to confront a pirate plot and once again save the Republic of Cinnabar.
#9 in the bestselling Republic of Cinnabar Navy space adventure series. Captain Daniel Leary with his friend-and spy-Officer Adele Mundy are sent to a quiet sector to carry out an easy task: helping the local admiral put down a coup before it takes place. But then the jealous admiral gets rid of them by sending them off on a wild goose chase to a sector where commerce is king and business is carried out by extortion and gunfights. With anarchy and rebellion in the air, a rogue intelligence officer plots the war that will destroy civilization and enlists the help of a brute whom even torturers couldn't stomach. And, of course, it's up to Leary and Mundy to put a stop to the madness.
About David Drake's previous RCN novel, "What Distant Deeps: "
"Drake deftly weaves a web of political machinations and intrigue that vividly depicts the costs of war. Fans of Patrick O'Brian's Maturin and Aubrey novels will enjoy this intricate, rousing space opera." -"Publishers Weekly"
About David Drake's RCN series:
" R]ousing old-fashioned space opera." -"Publishers Weekly"
"The fun is in the telling, and Mr. Drake has a strong voice. I want more " -"Philadelphia Weekly Press"
" S]pace opera is alive and well. This series is getting better as the author goes along...character development combined with first-rate action and memorable world designs." -"SFReader.com"
About David Drake:
" P]rose as cold and hard's the metal alloy of a tank...rivals Crane and Remarque..." -"Chicago Sun-Times"
"Drake couldn't write a bad action scene at gunpoint." -"Booklist.



About the Author
David Drake (born 1945) sold his first story (a fantasy) at age 20. His undergraduate majors at the University of Iowa were history (with honors) and Latin (BA, 1967). He uses his training in both subjects extensively in his fiction.

David entered Duke Law School in 1967 and graduated five years later (JD, 1972). The delay was caused by his being drafted into the US Army. He served in 1970 as an enlisted interrogator with the 11th Armored Cavalry Regiment, the Blackhorse, in Viet Nam and Cambodia. He has used his legal and particularly his military experiences extensively in his fiction also.

David practiced law for eight years; drove a city bus for one year; and has been a full-time freelance writer since 1981, writing such novels as" Out of the Waters" and "Monsters of the Earth". He reads and travels extensively.

Indie Bookstore Finder
EBbooks and EReaders
Find great gifts: Signed books
Link to IndieBound






Update Profile