The Meryl Streep Movie Club

By Mia March
(Gallery Books, Paperback, 9781451655391, 352pp.)

Publication Date: June 19, 2012

Other Editions of This Title: Hardcover

Shop Local
Enter your zip code below to find indies closest to you.

Go


Description

In the bestselling tradition of The Friday Night Knitting Club and The Jane Austen Book Club, three women find unexpected answers, happiness, and one another, with Meryl Streep movies as their inspiration.

Two sisters and the cousin they grew up with after a tragedy are summoned home to their family matriarch’s inn on the coast of Maine for a shocking announcement. Suddenly, Isabel, June, and Kat are sharing the attic bedroom—and barely speaking. But when innkeeper Lolly asks them to join her and the guests in the parlor for weekly Movie Night—it’s Meryl Streep month—they find themselves sharing secrets, talking long into the night . . . and questioning everything they thought they knew about life, love, and one another.

Each woman sees her complicated life reflected through the magic of cinema: Isabel’s husband is having an affair, and an old pact may keep her from what she wants most . . . June has promised her seven-year-old son that she will somehow find his father, who he’s never known . . . and Kat is ambivalent about accepting her lifelong best friend’s marriage proposal. Through everything, Lolly has always been there for them, and now Isabel, June, Kat—and Meryl—must be there for her. Finding themselves. Finding each other. Finding a happy ending.




About the Author

Mia March lives on the coast of Maine, the setting of her debut novel, The Meryl Streep Movie Club.




Praise For The Meryl Streep Movie Club

A heartwarming, spirit-lifting read just in time for beach season.

Kirkus Reviews

March’s debut is a treat for movie lovers an fans of meaningful women’s fiction. The main characters have their flaws, but are easy to relate to, and one can’t help but root for their success in life and love.

Romantic Times Book Reviews

Consume with a bowl of popcorn and plenty of hankies.

Publishers Weekly

In the tradition of Friday Night Knitting Club and The Jane Austen Book Club, this debut novel also has a healthy dose of Meryl Streep thrown in.

USA TODAY

"March’s first novel is a touching story of self-discovery and the strength of family."

Booklist

"Mamma Mia! Any romance that offers life lessons from Meryl wins on style points alone."

–USA TODAY

"In March’s debut novel, three cousins come together in the quaint Maine inn where they grew up to find solace and comfort in Streep’s oeuvre of films after each finds her life in disarray. The movies work their magic as each woman repairs her heartache in this emotional and heartwarming read."

Woman's Day

"March's debut novel is a romantic, heartfelt read, one that will likely be pulled out of beach bags from California to the coast of Maine this summer season."

BookReporter.com

Indie Bookstore Finder











Update Profile