You Know When the Men Are Gone

By Siobhan Fallon; Cassandra Campbell (Narrator)
(Tantor Media, MP3 CD, 9781452650388)

Publication Date: January 2011

Other Editions of This Title: Hardcover, Paperback, Compact Disc, Compact Disc, Hardcover

Shop Local
Enter your zip code below to find indies closest to you.

Go


Selected by Indie Booksellers for the Summer 2012 Reading Group
“Surprising, get-under-your-skin characters populate the spare landscape of Fort Hood, Texas, in this collection of linked stories that will have a compelling effect on even the most skeptical reader. Fallon opens a window into military base life from the perspective of the quiet supporters -- spouses, children and injured vets - who stay home when the men deploy. A riveting debut!”
-- Nicole Magistro, The Bookworm of Edwards, Edwards, CO
Selected by Indie Booksellers for the February 2011 Indie Next List


Description

The debut of a major literary talent, Siobhan Fallon presents an unforgettable collection of interconnected short stories in the tradition of Tim O'Brien, Raymond Carver, and Jhumpa Lahiri.




About the Author

Siobhan Fallon lived at Fort Hood, Texas, while her husband, an Army major, was deployed to Iraq for two tours of duty. She earned her M.F.A. at the New School in New York City. Siobhan lives with her family near the Defense Language Institute in Monterey, California. Cassandra Campbell has recorded nearly two hundred audio books and directed many more. She has been nominated for and won multiple Audie Awards, as well as the prestigious Odyssey Award. She has received numerous starred audio reviews in both Publishers Weekly and Library Journal as well as fourteen AudioFile Earphones Awards. Cassandra was also named a Best Voice by AudioFile for 2009 and 2010.




NPR
Monday, May 30, 2011

Some of the best summers are those filled with journeys, reunions and good food � three themes that factor prominently in the books recommended by our independent booksellers. More at NPR.org

NPR Audio Player Requires Flash Upgrade: Please upgrade your plug-in to view this content.

NPR
Tuesday, Jan 18, 2011

Debut author Siobhan Fallon writes about the lives of soldiers and their families in her new short story collection, You Know When the Men Are Gone. Families, she says, take the strangeness of deployment and learn how to create a new normal. More at NPR.org

NPR Audio Player Requires Flash Upgrade: Please upgrade your plug-in to view this content.




Conversation Starters from ReadingGroupChoices.com

CONVERSATION STARTERS

  1. In the first story, You Know When the Men Are Gone, why do you think the narrator develops such an obsession with her neighbor?  While it turns out Natalya was worthy of Meg’s scrutiny, do you think it was easier to literally be a nosy neighbor than for Meg to focus on the danger her husband faced overseas




Praise For You Know When the Men Are Gone

"Significant both as war stories and love stories, this collection certifies Fallon as an indisputable talent." ---Publishers Weekly Starred Review

Indie Bookstore Finder

You Know When the Men Are Gone

 

More Book Videos



Indie Bestsellers

Landline
Rainbow Rowell
St. Martin's Press
Daily Love
Mastin Kipp
Hay House
The Magician's Land
Lev Grossman
Viking Adult
10% Happier
Dan Harris
It Books

Make Your Own Wishlist

FIND US ON:
IndieBound on Twitter IndieBound on Facebook







Update Profile