How Lucky You Are

By Kristyn Kusek Lewis
(5 Spot, Paperback, 9781455502035, 352pp.)

Publication Date: September 4, 2012

Other Editions of This Title: Hardcover, Compact Disc, Compact Disc, MP3 CD

Shop Local
Enter your zip code below to find indies closest to you.

Go


Description

In the tradition of Emily Giffin and Marisa de los Santos, HOW LUCKY YOU ARE is an engaging and moving novel about three women struggling to keep their longstanding friendship alive. Waverly, who's always been the group's anchor, runs a cozy bakery but worries each month about her mounting debt. Kate is married to a man who's on track to be the next governor of Virginia, but the larger questions brewing in their future are unsettling her. Stay-at-home mom Amy has a perfect life on paper, but as the horrific secret she's keeping from her friends threatens to reveal itself, she panics.

As life's pressures build all around them, Waverly knows she has some big decisions to make. In doing so, she will discover that the lines between loyalty and betrayal can become blurred, happy endings aren't always clear-cut, and sometimes you have to risk everything to gain the life you deserve.




About the Author

Kristyn Kusek Lewis has an MFA in Creative Writing from Vermont College of Fine Arts, and has worked in magazines for fifteen years. She has written for The New York Times, O: The Oprah Magazine, Real Simple, Glamour, Allure, Good Housekeeping, Self, More, Redbook, and more.




Praise For How Lucky You Are

"Fans of women's fiction about enduring female friendships will relate to debut author Lewis's vivid and genuinely written protagonists. A good choice for readers who enjoy the novels of Kristin Hannah and Patricia Gaffney."—Karen Core, Detroit P.L., Library Journal

"Kristyn Kusek Lewis's How Lucky You Are is a moving, thoughtful story about what happens when friends become family and stay close despite all odds. It's an honest, empathetic novel of love, commitment, and female friendship with characters I didn't want to let go."—Meredith Goldstein, author of The Singles and Boston Globe "Love Letters" Columnist

"Charming and achingly real, Kristyn Kusek Lewis' How Lucky You Are is an endearing story about finding your way amid the many intricacies of friendship. I'm certain it will become a book club favorite."—Sarah Jio, author of The Violets of March and The Bungalow

"In this wise and compulsively readable debut, Lewis follows three thirtysomething female friends and tackles even the heaviest of subjects with a restrained and self-assured hand, avoiding sentimentality while displaying an impressive emotional range. I could smell the doughnut muffins, taste the margaritas and feel each high and low right along with the delightful characters. If you've ever had a best friend or been a best friend, this is a book for you."—Meg Mitchell Moore, author of The Arrivals and So Far Away

"A nuanced, heartfelt debut, How Lucky You Are artfully honors the importance of dear old friends. I can't wait to read more from Kristyn Kusek Lewis."—Allie Larkin, author of Stay and Why Can't I Be You

"How Lucky You Are is a compelling, insightful, and moving tale of the ever-shifting terrain of female friendship and the secrets we keep even from those who love us most."—Meg Donohue, author of How to Eat a Cupcake

Indie Bookstore Finder











Update Profile