A Certain Summer

A Certain Summer Cover

A Certain Summer

By Patricia Beard

Gallery Books, Paperback, 9781476710266, 336pp.

Publication Date: May 21, 2013

Description
A richly evocative debut novel set in an exclusive summer colony along the east coast during the aftermath of World War II for fans of Kate Morton and Jamie Ford.
"Nothing ever changes at Wauregan. That mystique is the tradition of the idyllic island colony off the shore of Long Island, the comforting tradition that its summer dwellers have lived by for over half a century. But in the summer of 1948, after a world war has claimed countless men even those who came home the time has come to deal with history's indelible scars.
Helen Wadsworth's husband, Arthur, was declared missing in action during an OSS operation in France, but the official explanation was mysteriously nebulous. Now raising a teenage son who longs to know the truth about his father, Helen turns to Frank Hartman her husband's best friend and his partner on the mission when he disappeared. Frank, however, seems more intent on filling the void in Helen's life that Arthur's absence has left. As Helen's affection for Frank grows, so does her guilt, especially when Peter Gavin, a handsome Marine who was brutally tortured by the Japanese and has returned with a faithful war dog, unexpectedly stirs new desires. With her heart pulled in multiple directions, Helen doesn t know whom to trust especially when a shocking discovery forever alters her perception of both love and war.
Part mystery, part love story, and part insider's view of a very private world, A Certain Summer resonates in the heart long after the last page is turned.


About the Author
Patricia Beard is the author of After the Ball and hundreds of national magazine articles. She has been an editor at Elle, Town & Country, and Mirabella. Beard lives in upstate New York.


Praise For A Certain Summer

"I'm crazy about A Certain Summer...For anyone who has a summer place that they have
adored, this book will bring up memories. Layer in the mystery of what happened
in the war, and you have one really satisfying read. Patricia is known for her
nonfiction work, and that background definitely infused this work."
-Bookreporter

"The deepening relationship between Peter and Helen is portrayed subtly and convincingly. An engaging postwar melodrama."
-Booklist