The Blazing World

The Blazing World

By Siri Hustvedt

Simon & Schuster, Hardcover, 9781476747231, 357pp.

Publication Date: March 11, 2014

Longlisted for the prestigious Man Booker Prize and hailed by "The Washington Post" as "Siri Hustvedt's best novel yet, an electrifying work," "The Blazing World" is a masterful novel about perception, prejudice, desire, and one woman's struggle to be seen.
In a new novel called "searingly fresh... A Nabokovian cat's cradle" on the cover of "The New York Times Book Review," the internationally bestselling author tells the provocative story of artist Harriet Burden, who, after years of having her work ignored, ignites an explosive scandal in New York's art world when she recruits three young men to present her creations as their own. Yet when the shows succeed and Burden steps forward for her triumphant reveal, she is betrayed by the third man, Rune. Many critics side with him, and Burden and Rune find themselves in a charged and dangerous game, one that ends in his bizarre death.
An intricately conceived, diabolical puzzle presented as a collection of texts, including Harriet's journals, assembled after her death, this "glorious mashup of storytelling and scholarship" ("San Francisco Chronicle") unfolds from multiple perspectives as Harriet's critics, fans, family, and others offer their own conflicting opinions of where the truth lies. Writing in "Slate," Katie Roiphe declared it "a spectacularly good read...feminism in the tradition of Simone de Beauvoir's "The Second Sex" or Virginia Woolf's "A Room of One's Own" richly complex, densely psychological, dazzlingly nuanced."
"Astonishing, harrowing, and utterly, completely engrossing" (NPR), Hustvedt's new novel is "Blazing indeed: ...with agonizing compassion for all of wounded humanity"("Kirkus Reviews," starred review). It is a masterpiece that will be remembered for years to come.

About the Author
Siri Hustvedt was born in 1955 in Northfield, Minnesota. She has a Ph.D. from Columbia University in English literature and is the internationally acclaimed author of five novels, "The Sorrows of an American", "What I Loved", "The Enchantment of Lily Dahl", "The Blindfold", and "The Summer Without Men", as well as a growing body of nonfiction, including "Living, Thinking, Looking", "A Plea for Eros", " "and "Mysteries of the Rectangle", " "and an interdisciplinary investigation of the body and mind in "The Shaking Woman or A History of My Nerves. "She has given lectures on artists and theories of art at the Prado, the Metropolitan Museum of Art in New York, and the Academy of Fine Arts in Munich. In 2011, she delivered the thirty-ninth annual Freud Lecture in Vienna. She lives in Brooklyn.