Dog Beach

By John Fusco
(Touchstone Books, Hardcover, 9781476750347, 224pp.)

Publication Date: September 9, 2014

Shop Local
Enter your zip code below to find indies closest to you.

Go


Description
Acclaimed screenwriter and creator of the Netflix original series "Marco Polo," John Fusco's "vivid, action-packed tale of Asian gangsters and Hollywood moviemaking" ("Publishers Weekly") follows the exploits of Louie Mo, once Hong Kong's greatest stuntman turned Los Angeles knee-breaker, as his latest target unexpectedly casts him in the role of a lifetime.
Leaving behind a successful career as a stunt double in Hong Kong to escape entanglements with the Chinese mafia, Louie Mo now makes his living in Los Angeles as a hired knee-breaker, putting fear into the hearts of people reneging on payments to investors.
Troy, an aspiring director with NYU credentials and encyclopedic movie knowledge, is beginning to realize that he's made a deal with the devil by agreeing to direct a film for producer Avi Ghazaryan. When Avi's sketchy investors hire Louie to scare Troy into finishing their movie, Troy's reverence for film and keen eye save him from a beating when he recognizes Louie Mo as the stunt man extraordinaire he once was and begs Louie to take the lead role in the movie based on Troy's own pet screenplay.
For Louie Mo, this chance at redemption might be his last. As his past catches up with him and his body becomes ever more broken down, he teams up with Troy in a race against the clock--and the bad guys--to pull off an impossible film of epic proportions.
"Dog Beach" is a fast-paced, smart, and hilarious thrill ride. Equal parts dark satire and high-velocity action novel, this "poisonously funny Hollywood noir nightmare" (Warren Ellis, author of "Red "and "Gun Machine") is perfect for fans of Elmore Leonard and Don Winslow.



About the Author
John Fusco is the author of "Paradise Salvage", which was shortlisted for the Crime Writers' Association's Dagger Award for Best First Crime Novel. He has written ten major motion pictures, including "Young Guns", "Hidalgo", and the Academy Award-nominated "Spirit: Stallion of the Cimarron". Fusco is the creator of the Netflix Original Series "Marco Polo" and has also just written the long-awaited sequel to "Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon". Most recently, he has adapted Paulo Coelho's "The Alchemist" for the Weinstein Company. He lives on a farm in Northern Vermont with his wife.
Indie Bookstore Finder
EBbooks and EReaders
Find great gifts: Signed books
Link to IndieBound






Update Profile